Call Her Savage - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Call Her Savage Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ September 7, 2015
After a number of sex scandals and high profile court cases knocked her out of the public eye, Clara Bow attempted a comeback with this talkie film. Referred to as "pre-code" because it was produced before the infamous Hays Code was brought in to mandate decency, happy endings, and good morals (the villain always gets punished in the end). Here, however, there are numerous transgressions of good taste and acceptable conduct. For one, Clara doesn't wear a bra. Beyond that, there is at least one good cat-fight, some inter-racial romance, a gay bar, and desperate prostitution. There is also some high melodrama (Clara's baby dies in a fire). But none of this seems to change the pace of the movie, which is spoken as though every line was a potential one-liner (with a delay for the laugh, which isn't warranted in most cases). So, it just feels a bit odd and unusual, which may have been typical for films in 1932, as sound was just getting established. A curiosity but no more.
October 23, 2014
Clara Bow oozes so much sex appeal in this film she just lights up the cinema. The film is very funny and dramatic the only drawback is when it goes into melodrama in the last 20/30 minutes it loses that early spark of the film but Clara is someone whom you cannot take your eyes from . She probably is the most perfect all round Actor.
May 19, 2014
Interesting and surprisingly explicit for its time. 82 years old and if I remember correctly, before the Hays code. They could do anything they wanted and they sure did! Clara Bow romps around with breasts flying and even walks around in a silk teddie with nothing on underneath. Pretty racy for 1932. You can easily tell why Bow was such a big star - with those big eyes and effortless acting. She was a natural. My fifteen minutes of watching weren't enough - I would have liked to have seen the whole thing. Be aware of some rascist overtones - a different social era. Alas, cereal only lasts so long and work beckons so 15 minutes is all I have to review. If you love old, old movies I would recommend this. High drama at its best... for its time.
March 22, 2014
gr8 vehicle for the IT grrl clara bow this is the first talkie i've seen her in and her voice is wonderful.
½ December 28, 2013
This pre-code movie is pretty ridiculous in what it could get away with in the pre-code days.. Loose morals., prostitution, infidelity, loveless marriage for starters! Clara Bow just basically lets it all hang out in this tale of a (ahem) free minded woman and her attempts at love, money, and yes, redemption. Lots of ups and downs for her, and it's all ridiculously trashy entertainment.
July 30, 2012
A racy and daring pre-code drama which stars Clara Bow perhaps at her most memorable. Shame about the uneven script and careless direction.
½ May 30, 2009
Great movie! I highly recommend it.
March 27, 2009
Pretty entertaining Pre-Code flick with Clara Bow.
July 23, 2008
the it girl does it again
½ June 12, 2008
Clara's character, with profound similarities to her actual life, is perhaps a firecracker flying off the handle at times (which was rather entertaining! I laughed), but ultimately a victim of men and of circumstance. She lives her life attempting to be true to her self, but in the process is used by men for her beauty and experiences one tragedy after another. The poor girl doesn't always make the best choices but, she is real and honest.
½ May 1, 2008
This movie wasn't to good. Then again, it is early morning, but it's going a bit to slow to hold my interest though, at this time.
December 23, 2007
Clara Bow runs the gamut in this impressive pre-code - hard to believe that her career would be over in just another couple years.
August 29, 2007
Clara Bow didn't make very many talkies, but damn, this film is pretty impressive. No production code yet in 1932, so there was no problem with her getting into a wrestling match with a great Dane, catfighting Thelma Todd, or walking into a gay bar in Greenwich Village. Nobody was allowed to make films like this after 1934; despite the disappearance of the production code in the early 60s, no one is allowed to make films like this even now.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ May 28, 2007
wild pre code melodrama, everything but the kitchen sink!!
Page 1 of 1