Call Me Kuchu - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Call Me Kuchu Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 16, 2014
A moving examination of the fight for gay rights in Uganda.
| Original Score: 4/4
December 31, 2013
Call Me Kuchu leaves you flabbergasted by its portrait of the persecution of gay men and lesbians in Uganda.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 31, 2013
It's a lesson in courage, in being determined to enjoy one's life even as the authorities threaten to take it away.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 31, 2013
[A] portrait of a courageous LGBT community partying, organizing, laughing and weeping as it fights for its life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 7, 2013
The film focuses on a few activists trying to advance gay rights against the head winds of a brand of Christian religion that openly advocates killing homosexuals.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 14, 2013
With this heartbreaking premise, directors Malika Zouhali-Worrall and Katherine Fairfax Wright directed Call Me Kuchu, a revealing documentary that takes a look at how a small group of people are working hard to take Uganda out of this dark ages.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
October 4, 2013
The film is impassioned and powerful but not frenzied, riling the viewers' emotions without giving in to them itself.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
September 24, 2013
The result is an at times harrowing, heartbreaking and hopeful look at the best and worst humanity has to offer.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 16, 2013
Stirring, heartbreaking and thoroughly infuriating ...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 10, 2013
A compassionate, troubling, and ultimately hopeful story that is still unfolding.
June 20, 2013
Both Senyonjo and Kato light up the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 15, 2013
Eye-opening and enraging. Thanks to Call Me Kuchu, the legacy of David Kato, Uganda's closest equivalent to Harvey Milk, will live on.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.0/10
June 15, 2013
The efforts of its subjects are inspirational, and could prompt further worldwide attention and support for their cause.
June 14, 2013
This alternately harrowing and inspirational doc puts a human face on the fight for gay rights in Uganda.
Top Critic
June 14, 2013
Horrific and uplifting ...
June 14, 2013
Eye-opening and powerful. A must-see for GLBT Americans and all those concerned about international human rights.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
June 14, 2013
A heartbreaking portrait, a brutal wake-up call and a testament to how the actions of a few brave souls can create change.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
June 13, 2013
I'll be surprised if any other movie this year affects me as much.
June 13, 2013
A scary but inspiring film with real heroes and villains.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
June 13, 2013
The very best - and, alas, the very worst - of human nature is captured in this heartbreaking and inspiring documentary from Katherine Fairfax Wright and Malika Zouhali-Worrall.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 3