Call Me Kuchu - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Call Me Kuchu Reviews

October 4, 2013
The film is impassioned and powerful but not frenzied, riling the viewers' emotions without giving in to them itself.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 16, 2013
Stirring, heartbreaking and thoroughly infuriating ...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 20, 2013
Both Senyonjo and Kato light up the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 14, 2013
This alternately harrowing and inspirational doc puts a human face on the fight for gay rights in Uganda.
Top Critic
June 14, 2013
Horrific and uplifting ...
June 13, 2013
I'll be surprised if any other movie this year affects me as much.
June 13, 2013
A scary but inspiring film with real heroes and villains.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
June 13, 2013
The very best - and, alas, the very worst - of human nature is captured in this heartbreaking and inspiring documentary from Katherine Fairfax Wright and Malika Zouhali-Worrall.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 13, 2013
Apart from its laudable goal of raising awareness, the film doesn't have much to offer.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 11, 2013
Equally gut-wrenching and inspiring, the documentary Call Me Kuchu beams right from Uganda, the global hypocenter in the ongoing and intensifying struggle over LGBT rights.
June 11, 2013
It's far too soon for a happy ending, but in praising Kato's bravery, Call Me Kuchu at least points to the potential for one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 22, 2013
While a local filmmaker's perspective may have brought more dimensions, the coverage of events here is impressive and on the mark.
October 30, 2012
[A] shocking, moving, enthralling and enraging doc ...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5