Call Me Kuchu - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Call Me Kuchu Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ July 3, 2016
Very good documentary. Very well made and down to earth.
August 17, 2014
the ugandan homosexual community's struggles are truly moving and i was impressed with the access the filmmakers had to various sources and events. i was really moved by the sudden death of david kato and the scenes that followed, and it's sad to think that the struggle there is not over yet. though there were great moments of tenderness scattered throughout the film, i wish they had been more frequent.
January 18, 2014
It's heartbreaking but you must watch it
December 10, 2013
Riveting documentary about human rights struggle in Uganda. You will never forget the people you meet in this documentary.
½ October 28, 2013
Powerful and moving you would have to be heartless not to shed a tear as you watch the brave men and women of Ugandas LGBT community fight legislation that would leave them facing the death penalty. It therefore seems churlish in the face of such dramatic and worthy subject mater to critique the quality of the film making however I felt a better edit would have revealed a tighter narrative.
October 19, 2013
A devastating document of the very worst that humanity has to offer, yet also the very best. Incredibly important, and beautifully made.
September 28, 2013
Documentaries are a mixed bag: some try so hard to make their subject matter palatable to a wider audience that they unintentionally dilute the subject matter. Not this one. This is an unflinching look at a heartbreakingly vulnerable community of gay activists in a country where that can get you killed. Their courage gives new meaning to the word "heroic". They literally stared down the monster of hatred and condemnation, and not surprisingly paid a price to do so. what's not surprising is that some evangelical opportunist would choose Uganda as the perfect place to spout his hate-filled rants and thereby incite and encourage violence against non-violent people who are gay. The Ugandan government officials and tabloid-like newspapapers come across as embarrassingly ignorant, particularly with their insistence that gays are a "threat" to families and that gays "recruit" young people. Like so many thick-headed, myopic people throughout history people before them , they cling desperately to the notion that being gay is a "choice" when it is innate identity. That line of ignorant reasoning allows them to do what religious fanatics have done throughout time, wage war against other people in the name of moral and spiritual superiority. My opinion only, but there is a word for such hate-filled humans: HYPOCRITES. This doc shows them once again fanning the flames of hate and ignoring three simple, but powerful words in the Word: God is love. Luckily, these Ugandan activists had worlwide support in their resistance to laws that would've made being gay worthy of imprisonment and perhaps even death. Interestingly, this doc not only illustrates the hypocrisy of religious hate-mongers, but the power of the Internet to humiliate and shame a country all to willing to play into their hands. This is one very exceptional and brave documentary; don't miss it.
August 23, 2013
This film is a powerful and moving insight into the lives of those living with terrible insecurity, inequality and fear in Uganda as the country becomes more and more intolerant of it's gay citizens. David Kato was an inspirational champion of gay rights in Uganda and hopefully his participation in 'Call me Kuchu' will help stop the deplorable "Anti-Homosexuality Bill" (A.K.A. "Kill the gays Bill) from ever becoming law. A must watch for anyone interested in gay and/or human rights.
July 1, 2013
Touching & real , even in the dark sides it's showing
Page 1 of 1