Captain America: The Winter Soldier - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Captain America: The Winter Soldier Reviews

Page 1 of 574
July 24, 2017
An entry in the Marvel movie world that finally is actually about something; it's not the most in-depth look at the price of freedom, and a twist halfway through rather voids the whole issue, but it ties in well enough with the plot and characters to be welcome nonetheless. What we see also seems weightier in-world for both our hero and the cinematic universe he is part of, there's an emotional heft that is missing from even the best of The Avengers mega-franchise and there's consequences that mean this isn't just another two hours of treading water until the next team-up arrives. The series' struggles with how to end movies remains however, and here focuses on uninspired, MacGuffin-led action and the resulting destruction porn at the expense of the relationships and issues it had set-up so well. Still the strengths of this nine film investment in a shared universe really start to pay off with previously minor or under-used characters given a chance to shine; Jackson's Nick Fury is a particular joy, but all of the cast give strong performances. And yet this still feels like a movie about its title character and it is Chris Evans as the shining example of hero feeling out of place in murky times that elevates this to the ranks of great superhero movies.
½ July 24, 2017
Fun , easy to watch and then it becomes an emotional rollercoaster between steroids and bad sequence of fights.... They pushed the boundary and try to hard to.make capitan America a contemporaneous superhero . Sadly for the people outside the US it's a big fat nah !!!
½ July 20, 2017
This movie is what got me into the mcu with iconic scenes and an interesting story. The Winter Soldier does justice to an amazing character such as Captain America. The action is amazing and the elevator scene is the most intense fight I have seen in a movie.
July 20, 2017
Improves on the original in every single way possible. Steve Rogers is even more entertaining and Black Widow too. Highly suggest it.
½ July 19, 2017
A tense political thriller that has some of the most grounded and visceral action scenes of all the MCU movies.
July 19, 2017
Superb, Sebastian Stan excels.
July 15, 2017
I really enjoyed this movie!
July 15, 2017
The best of the Marvel movies
July 14, 2017
So ummm... not much of a plot. Mostly about the fighting. There can be a story and fighting, it is possible. Also, too much camera shaking. Get your point across with good directing and acting, not just frantically shaking like your filming on a home camera... Not terrible though.
½ July 13, 2017
An excellent espionage thriller that gives captain america a new gas and gives us some of the best action sequences from superhero movies.
July 10, 2017
Captain America: The Winter soldier is Awesome, this movie is so good. This movie basically gets everything just right, and I will consider this to be one of the best Marvel movies. It's exciting, it's entertaining, and this movie is incredibly fun. If you want a fun time then you will love this movie. The story and script are really good, the acting and characters are really good, the music is really good, the visual and special effects are really good, and the action is fantastic.
½ July 10, 2017
One of the least 'world destroy-ish' capable heroes (pre Spider-Man) delivers one of the best entries in the entire Marvel Cinematic Universe and one of the best Marvel films, feeling like an 80's spy film, which is thrilling, boosts an adrenaline rush and introduces new and also old characters that all tie up together at the end greatly. Cap is great, Black Widow is also great (and hot!), the Winter Soldier is also an intriguing villain (of sorts) and Nick Fury ala Samuel Effin' Jackson is the MVP. After the Avengers, Iron Man, Guardians, this was the finest entry of the MCU that could be ranked on the Great Superhero Entries of All Time.
July 8, 2017
better then the first one
sir earl
Super Reviewer
July 6, 2017
Frankly speaking , I was really impressively and blown away by Captain America Winter Soldier. Simply put it was everything the movie preview trailer made it out to be .... and then some.

And not only do I think it's' easily one of Marvel's best films ever. But trying to bypass my Marvel Superhero film bias but this film struck me enough to it very easily say it's one of the top ten Superhero hero action films that I've ever seen period. It was that great.t! ...

Before I forget - i did like that there were two important future -mover teaser clips after the end of the credits.
One sets up "Avengers: Age of Ultron..... while the other clip will set up "Captain America 3."

I loved the action sequences/pace of this film. Sure there is the Spy/Conspiracy plot, brief clips of Steve Roger (Chris Evans) of his old school days with his longtime best friend Bucky Barnes, who presumably perished in the previous Capt. America First Avenger film , as well as a couple other ties with World War II comrades But it's the fighting choreography, multiple stunts, firearm gun fights, car chases/gadgets, sky-air -fights, were that were so eye-catching and very impressive. I enjoyed this Captain America film so much, much better than the original Capt. America First Avenger film (which I thought was somewhat boring and pretty average) It was a totally night and day difference between the two films.

From Capt. America: First Avenger film, I never got to see the display level of impressive acrobats, strength, and fighting prowess that I grew up knowing of Capt. America comic books from. That completely changed in the new sequel.I saw some stunts and sequences that I am still in awe with as I had never seen a superhero who doesn't truly have superhuman powers (super-serum made him enhanced, but necessarily super-powered) but yet he was able to single handedly takes out a weaponry equipped fighting jet-copper, he leaps from hundreds of feet from the air into a deep lake without the aid of parachutes, he takes on 10+ fighting agents in a crowded elevator and leaps 30 feet from a building to a concrete ground.

This was the Capt. America that I wanted to see on full display - and Capt. America: Winter Soldier unloaded and delivered everything in the bag. Nothing left back.

Sebastian Stan (the Winter Soldier) doesn't say very much in the film -he may have just a few sentences in the entire movie, as he's basically a minion zombie but the fighting action sequences that he puts on display as the bionic armed Winter Soldier were just terrific. You get to see as a brilliant marksman, hand to hand combat fighter. Not only do I see W.S vs. Capt. on four or five difference occasions but he also take on a fleet of soldiers, battles both Black Widow and the Falcon.

He was a treat to see. Besides taking on the Winter Solider, Capt. Also battles one of his comic book villain known as " Batroc the Leaper " in the beginning of the film in what starts out as a I didn't recognize the actor portraying Batroc, but I thought it would have been a better touch adding a more familiar martial artist face such as Chuck Liddell, etc. but that's stretching it too much with me. We also get to see legendary actor Robert Redford in a different character role than we are accustomed to seeing him.

As much as I can recall, this was the first that I really got to enjoy Samuel Jackson's Nick Fury character - (though I saw in him action in the Avengers movie). But to see him in totally solo against overwhelming number and circumstances - and how he was able to escape and combat forces against him was what I was elated to see.

That was also one of the strongest, more impressive action-scenes in the film. .... (BTW, there are several impressive scenes,). Ironically the Fury scene also gave the film probably its strongest humorous moment. There are some nit bits-like references to other movies that I took notice - one by the Black Widow, the other to " Pulp Fiction" at the end. And as usual Marvel creator/founder Stan Lee makes his usual cameo appearance in a Marvel film, so look out for his spotlight.

Frankly speaking - Fury's combat group which included Steve Rogers ( Capt. A.) and Sam Wilson As the Falcon, Natasha Romanoff as the Black Widow were all put into great action scenes. I fell in love with Scarlett Johansson from both appearance and in full fledge action. As a disguised agent, as a hand to hand combatant, computer hacker, marksman- she was just as amazing in this film as she was in her Iron Man/Avengers films. As with Anthony Mackie's Sam Wilson character, the moment I saw the trailer , I quickly identified Capt. America's counterpart known as the Falcon. There will be some intense moments that will surprise you, and yet a couple that are fairly predictable. Interesting ending upon the involvement of S.H.I.E.L.D. and how the very powerful law enforcement agency is dealt with.

My only peeve that I really had with this film was the dreaded " shaky camera scenes" - in trying to make this fast -action film even faster, the blurry cam shots ended up being distracting ....and it was totally unnecessary for this feature - because there was way too much outstanding stunts and fighting choreography to be bugged down with those kind of studio tricks - I would have graded out Capt. 2 even higher if not for those shaky cam shots. ( however shakiness was twice as annoying and almost unbearable in ' Civil War)

Still though , I was so in awe with the fighting choreography, car stunts, costumes, (Scarlett Johansson..! ) that I came out of the theater with quite a satisfactory adrenaline rush after seeing this film and it now puts the pressure on Avengers Age of Ultron, and Xmen Days of Future Past to at least come even with Capt. America Winter Soldier.

On a scale of 1- to 10, I'd give Captain America: Winter Soldier an 8.5
½ July 5, 2017
An argument could be made for this being the best MCU film. It's jam packed with suspense, action, compelling characters and even a big old conspiracy to boot. Stan is finally given a chance to shine and he does so brightly. The film is everything you want from a big budget action flick, but with added layers that allow it to stand out.
July 1, 2017
This made Chris Evans a star
June 25, 2017
Full of very good effects, the music is even good and the plot is intelligent.
June 24, 2017
Captain America Rock the Marvel Universe :)
½ June 24, 2017
I was not anticipating this movie at all but it turned out to be better than the first Captain America movie and one of the best MCU movies. Chis Evens is great and it was nice to have a superhero-spy film.

8.9/10
June 24, 2017
The Winter Soldier gives off a different vibe, focusing on a more grounded presentation. This, coupled with suspenseful action and storytelling, makes it one of Marvel's finest.
Page 1 of 574