Captain Apache (The Guns of April Morning) (Deathwork) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Captain Apache (The Guns of April Morning) (Deathwork) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
July 19, 2016
good mystery/western combo or as my friend says a hybrid.
January 28, 2016
WOW......WOW......WOW......WHAT A MOVIE.......I HAVE JUST SEEN THIS MOVIE 4 THE 1ST TIME N THINK THAT THIS IS SUCH A CLASSICS MOVIE 2 WATCH.......ITS GOT A GOOD CAST OF ACTORS/ACTRESSESS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE......I think that lee van cleef (.R.I.P.), carroll baker, stuart Whitman, elisa montes, jose bodalo, play good roles/parts throughout this movie......I think that the director of this western/action/adventure/classics movie had done a fantastic job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.....I think that this is such a highly entertaining westerns movie 2 watch, I think that this is such a really enjoyable movie 2 watch,





Captain Apache was also released under the following titles: Capitán Apache (Spain), Deathwork (U.S.A.), The Guns of April Morning (U.K.), Capitan Apache (Italy), Kapteeni Apassi (Finland), Pääpiru (Finland), O Keravnos ton Apache (Greece), and Hunt the Man Down.




The vocals of the opening and credits song were performed by Lee Van Cleef.



WARNING THIS MOVIE CONTAINS STROBE LIGHTNING EFFECTS THROUGHOUT SOME SCENES THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE....... man I think that this is such an enjoyable movie 2 watch its got such a fantastic cast throughout this movie.......I think that lee van cleef was absolutely brilliant throughout this movie.....I think that this is such a gripping, thrilling entertaining movie 2 watch with such a great cast throughout this movie.........its got good fight scenes throughout this movie......I think that this is such a good classics western movie 2 watch with a great cast throughout this movie........
March 1, 2015
A hairpieced Lee Van Cleef stars as an Indian Union captain uncovering a mysterious plot only known by the code words April Morning. Spanish made Western has entertainment value driven by its incomparable star, who can salvage any venture. Fans are advised to stay through the final credits, where Van Cleef sings the closing number.
October 21, 2013
Monday, October 21, 2013

(1971) Captain Apache
DUBBED
SPAGHETTI WESTERN

Muddled spaghetti western movie centering on the Lee Van Cleef character as Captain Apache since he's one of the captains of a Yankee cavalry. He's in search for answers, mystery and the meaning of a quote "April morning' mentioned by his commander before he was found dead.

Although, they're many boring scenes, they're also some never before scenes as well one can't see in a Western such as a female witch doctor and the coffin scene. Like the original Django movies, it does consist some unexpected stuff even though it's all very relatively unusual.

2.5 out of 4 stars
April 3, 2012
"It is the spirit that dances, not the man" - Indian proverb (apparently)

What a film! It's nigh-on incomprehensible in terms of plot (still the case after many viewings down the years) but then plot is only a small part of the best spaghetti westerns and I rate this among the very best. There is just so much to enjoy, i.e.the full-bodied acting of the entire company, from Lee as Captain Apache posing in his loincloth atop a rock (much holding in of the stomach) whilst addressing one of his Native American brethren, to the blonde English twins who challenge him to a drinking contest, everyone gives of their best. Stuart Whitman is "as cool as", and Carroll Baker is fab as the self-professed symbol of chasteness and purity who can't keep her knickers on. The cinematography is brilliant - check out the scene where Cappy Appy is hallucinating his nuts off after being forced to drink a conconction brewed by the town's resident witch(!?) which bizarrely mutates into the good Captain chasing two heavies up and down what looks like the stairwell in a multi-storey car park. But best of all - oh happy day - is Lee Van Cleef's rendering of the film's two songs. The theme tune "Captain Apache", he decides to speak while leaving the boys in the chorus to carry the tune and do the singing in a Paint Your Wagon stylee. It's one of the best movie themes ever. No, really! The closing number "April Morning" he takes on himself and gives such an emotively tuneless performance that it's enough to bring a tear to a glass eye. This film has its knockers (Carroll Baker again) but it's an example of a genre in which panache goes an exceedingly long way. It's not the story, it's the way you tell it. This film has panache by the bucketload! :-)
March 8, 2011
It's the spirit that dances, not the man

Captain Apache is an Indian that has severed in the military and believes in equality. When his general is mysteriously murdered he begins investigating the rationale for the treacherous act. He discovers the general's dying words involved April 1st. Can Captain Apache uncover the mystery of the general's murderers and enact revenge with little assistance from anyone since he is an Indian?

"The only good Indian is a dead Indian. The only good pale face is a dead pale face. Love thigh neighbor."

Alexander Singer, director of Glass Houses, Love has Many Faces, Psyche 59, and A Cold Wind in August, delivers Captain Apache. The storyline for this movie is interesting and well paced. The action scenes are entertaining and the acting is solid for the genre. The cast includes Lee Van Cleef, Carroll Baker, Stuart Whitman, and Dan van Husen.

"Why do you always insult men that might kill you?"
"I like to be a man that enjoys his work."

Lee Van Cleef is an actor we recently began following due to his outstanding western pictures. While generally a villain, he is the main character and hero in this picture. Regardless of being a good or bad guy, Van Cleef always delivers a gritty character that is tough and hard to predict. There were a couple awkward scenes that prevented this from being an all time grindhouse classic, but this is a must see for fans of westerns.

"You shot me in my ear."
"You call that shot?"

Grade: B (7.5)
February 12, 2011
Has to be seen to be believed

Mega soundtrack by Dolores Claman which i want but can not get, disgraceful
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
March 26, 2010
Grade C western with cheapo sets and some ridiculous 70's mind bending thrown into its uninteresting mix. Carroll Baker's part is a nothing and her makeup is strictly late 1960's glamorous, hardly fitting to the western setting. The musical score is awful!
December 30, 2009
Captain Apache (1971)

Wow! This is another nail in the coffin of the Spaghetti Western from the early 70s. This movie, based on S.E. Whitman's (is that Stuart Whitman's?) novel, has Lee Van Cleef singing the theme songs, "Captain Apache" and "April Morning". Filmed in Spain with an international cast.

The director, Alexander Singer, probably should have stuck to doing TV series, because he did a terrible job making this movie. It's very poorly made and edited. The movie that I saw was full screen from a wide screen original, so people's faces tend to run off the edge of the scenery.

The movie starts out really, really bad and, with time, becomes curiously watch-able. Captain Apache (Lee Van Cleef) is a native American Army officer, investigating the murder of an Indian Affairs Commissioner. What's curious is that the Commisioner's dying last words were april morning, and somehow that's so important that everyone who seems to know what april morning means is killed before they're able to tell the Captain.

Somehow this is all tied together with the local sheriff's deputies, a gun runner named Griffin (Stuart Whitman), some of his men (of dubious loyalties), as well as some Mexican calvary, and some beautiful young ladies, Maude (Carroll Baker) and Rosita (Elisa Montés).

Somehow, I think that this movie could have been done so much better than it was, but Lee Van Cleef makes it reasonably watch-able.
December 14, 2008
One of those films that I watched very late one night, hoping it'd bore me to sleep as I couldn't muster the tumescence for a wank.
It didn't.

The Cleef kicks so much shit-kicker arse as an underestimated, loner "redskin in cavalry bluuuuuuuue!!!", cooly facing off the adversity with deadpan one-liners, his fists and a tomahawk (all between getting pissed, high and laid) that by the end of it, not only did I want a Captain Apache fur collar coat, a little of the shit he took in the heavy funk, psychedelic dream sequence and to sing my own theme tune. I needed a wank!

Looks like a Western. Plays like Blaxploitation. Sounds like a porno. And he sings the end credits too. Really badly. This one is just too much fun!
December 6, 2008
Lee Van Cleef (minus the mustache) check, incoherent plot, check, crap tastic sound and dubbing, check, tons of blatent racism, check. All adds up to a hilarously bad western, that'll make anyone laugh. Try a drinking game, anytime someone says "April Morning" and you should be good to go.
April 17, 2008
Far too much in the way of ambiguity, a deliberate attempt to confuse the audience with "meaningful" symbolism, Lee Van Cleef grinning his way through a cumbersome script. Now why should anyone give this movie the time of day? Singer's cunning game of cat and mouse is as much focused on the viewer as it is amongst the motley crew of typical western characters, each one galvinised by western tropes, each one, a direct challenge to the viewer's guile. Captain Apache has no right to assume that it is a classic, whatever that even means, what can be said, is that it's one tough badass son of a bitch, full to the guts of Van Cleef's endearing arrogance, trampling over the latest bunch of lackeys who somehow think they'll be the ones to dethrone him. As if...
½ February 16, 2008
Come now, no film where Lee Van Cleef sings can be ALL bad.
February 15, 2008
One of those films that I watched very late one night, hoping it'd bore me to sleep as I couldn't muster the tumescence for a wank.
It didn't.

The Cleef kicks so much shit-kicker arse as an underestimated, loner "redskin in cavalry bluuuuuuuue!!!", cooly facing off the adversity with deadpan one-liners, his fists and a tomahawk (all between getting pissed, high and laid) that by the end of it, not only did I want a Captain Apache fur collar coat, a little of the shit he took in the heavy funk, psychedelic dream sequence and to sing my own theme tune. I needed a wank!

Looks like a Western. Plays like Blaxploitation. Sounds like a porno. And he sings the end credits too. Really badly. This one is just too much fun!
Super Reviewer
February 3, 2008
A quirky but dire western starring Lee Van Cleef as a Native American officer in the Union Army, determined to make sense of a dying man's cryptic last words: "April morning". If you're thinking this sounds like the western equivalent of "Citizen Kane" you're way off the mark, and I'd be surprised if you still care what the riddle means by the time Van Cleef finds out. The choppy editing ensures that the film makes no narrative sense whatsoever, and it is badly dated by an inappropriately funky soundtrack and a trippy hallucination scene. Van Cleef actually sings the two songs which play over the credits, both of which are dreadful. Unfortunately, "Captain Apache" isn't quite camp enough to be enjoyed for its awfulness, but the sight of Lee Van Cleef in a loin-cloth, desperately sucking his stomach in, ought to raise a smile. I think this was an American/Spanish co-production, but stylistically it's a Spaghetti rip-off.
February 1, 2008
Rather offbeat use of music and editing in this western which doesn't seem to work at first but actually grows as a style as the film goes on. It has quite a few flaws but the mystery surrounding 'April Morning' is intriguing enough to keep watching.
½ August 14, 2007
we called him captain underpants - coz he seemed to always be wearing them.
August 13, 2007
They call him Cap-tain A-pach-e. Hard to watch most of the time, but occasionally lamely funny. The early love scene between Van Cleef and Baker is probably the best part.
Page 1 of 1