Captive State Reviews

March 28, 2019
Whether our streets are under assault by alien insects or craven speculators, if a filmmaker shows the places we know and love, we will care about the story's fate, no matter how far-fetched.
March 16, 2019
Overall it's a mess, compounded by murky CGI and some unrealistic performances.
March 16, 2019
An unsatisfying potluck of quasi-relevant, frustration-inducing ideas.
March 16, 2019
Goodman, Dunn and Farmiga play even the more ridiculous elements straight, as if they're in a cop movie. The younger actors are all terrific as well.
March 15, 2019
Unfortunately, character development is perfunctory and unsatisfactory. We're watching a bunch of pawns on a filmmaker's chessboard.
March 15, 2019
The central plot development...is galvanizing in theory but mostly just confusing in practice.
Top Critic
March 15, 2019
It's really rather impressive, the extent to which Captive State sucks everything even potentially fun out of the alien-invasion genre.
March 15, 2019
In "Captive State" aliens have taken over the world (as they will), but it's the viewers stuck watching this messy, lugubrious sci-fi thriller who may feel like the ones being held captive.
March 15, 2019
Visually murky, choppily edited and lacking both narrative clarity and well-defined characterizations, Captive State is a deeply frustrating viewing experience.
March 15, 2019
The thinking behind Captive State is admirable. The execution is far from that.
March 15, 2019
There were elements here and there that I liked, but its message was muddled - and if this type of movie doesn't work as a message film, it doesn't work where it matters most.
March 15, 2019
An audacious and suspenseful thriller about resistance fighters waging an underdog campaign against occupying extraterrestrials.
March 14, 2019
Captive State is imperfectly constructed, at times frustratingly so, but it's trying, doggedly, to do something different and given the bland efficiency of so many wide-releasing sci-fi movies, that's hard to fault.