Capturing the Friedmans - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Capturing the Friedmans Reviews

Page 1 of 8
January 1, 2011
Captivating and intense. Mature teens+.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 25, 2010
Like the darkest pop song Billy Joel never wrote, "Friedmans" hauntingly asked how far faith goes when it comes to family, how much mercy we'd grant them based merely on our memories and how forgiveness sometimes endures years of fury before it's granted.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 14, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 1, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 16, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 30, 2005
Probing into the elusive nature of truth, through the prism of one Jewish family, this is one of the most perplexing and disturbing docus in American film history
Read More | Original Score: A
March 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 5, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 2, 2005
...an insane document, a slice of life that we probably should never have seen. But now that we have seen it, it's too late to deny its crippling poignancy...
Read More | Original Score: A
December 6, 2004
Much of this information could have been delivered in a way that respected the Friedmans, even if they did not respect each other.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 23, 2004
The Friedmans are a case study in family dysfunction.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 16, 2004
Grown men and women, in broad daylight and friendly company, would not lightly name some of the worst terrors of our world.
April 30, 2004
A different kind of horror is portrayed in Capturing the Friedmans -- the disintegration of a family after the father secret life is exposed.
April 19, 2004
Director Jarecki takes his time in presenting the divergent points of view. But even at nearly two hours, one still feels there is a lack of information.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 17, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 17, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
April 2, 2004
inspires in the viewer something which was conspicuously absent from the original trial - reasonable doubt.
March 29, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 24, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 8, 2004
This film is an American dream gone awry.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 8