Capturing the Friedmans - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Capturing the Friedmans Reviews

Page 1 of 8
June 1, 2003
A document that, much like the denial-stricken members of the Friedman clan, seems to have become so clouded by bias that it refuses to look for the truths in front of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 15, 2003
Not convincingly redeemed by any ultimate meaning, the film remains essentially a car wreck by the side of the road that we compulsively gawk at as we cruise by.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 4, 2003
Contrived and movieish.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 12, 2003
This is finally a particularly naked and invasive form of voyeurism, The Real World for the PBS crowd.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 1, 2011
Captivating and intense. Mature teens+.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 10, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 2, 2005
...an insane document, a slice of life that we probably should never have seen. But now that we have seen it, it's too late to deny its crippling poignancy...
Read More | Original Score: A
June 6, 2003
Disturbing and haunting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 17, 2003
In the end, while Jarecki may not be able to answer our most basic questions about the guilt or innocence of the Friedmans, he makes a profound statement that, in situations like this, no one can be completely innocent and everyone is a victim.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 22, 2003
The MPAA doesn't have a rating for queasy-making and heartbreaking. If it did, then Capturing the Friedmans would carry an advisory.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 12, 2003
A vividly personal, devastating story of a family that was hopelessly compromised years before it was scapegoated for crimes that two of its members may or may not have committed.
July 10, 2003
Surprise after surprise unravels, changing our take on the whole situation.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 19, 2003
The Friedmans aren't merely captured for the audience -- they're stripped naked, then left to hop up and down on a bed of emotional hot coals.
Read More | Original Score: A
May 29, 2003
When a community put a family under suspicion, they put themselves on-camera -- and this documentary shows it all.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 29, 2003
For certain, things are never black or white, always gray. Yet after viewing this film, one is persuaded that even gray has many shades and hues.
June 26, 2003
June 27, 2003
You may never see a film more explosive, frank and upsetting.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
April 2, 2004
inspires in the viewer something which was conspicuously absent from the original trial - reasonable doubt.
March 1, 2003
It is more intriguing than a lot of fiction, and told in a more compelling manner than most film stories.
Full Review | Original Score: A
June 23, 2003
It's like watching a horrible train wreck.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 8