Casa de mi padre - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Casa de mi padre Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Stephen Rebello
Playboy Online
August 5, 2015
Casa de Mi Padre is an amiable but eventually tiresome Spanish-language goof of telenovelas and floridly melodramatic, moustache-twirling westerns.
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
May 3, 2015
Even if you're making a bad movie on purpose, it's still a bad movie.
Richard Haridy
Quickflix
November 25, 2013
Fundamentally, it seems the big joke of Casa de Mi Padre is that it was produced at all, and as a weird Dadaist joke it is indeed satisfying. It's hard, however, to recommend a film that feels like a giant prank.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Billy Tatum
We Got This Covered
January 23, 2013
Unfortunately for Casa de Mi Padre there's a very fine line between smart-stupid and slapdash-stupid.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
October 9, 2012
[S]ubtle humor that slips under your radar instead of bashing you over the head is what makes Casa one of the more adventurous comedies in recent years...
Kristal Cooper
We Got This Covered
September 15, 2012
Unfortunately for Casa de Mi Padre there's a very fine line between smart-stupid and slapdash-stupid.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
August 17, 2012
After awhile Casa de mi Padre begins to play as a conceptual exercise rather than a legitimately funny movie in its own right.
Full Review | Original Score: C
R. L. Shaffer
IGN DVD
August 7, 2012
Pretty much one long sketch painfully stretched to feature length - Casa de mi Padre would have been better served as a short film series on Ferrell's Funny or Die website.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Rick Kisonak
Seven Days
July 25, 2012
How many superstars would devote themselves to a project this quixotic? Whether you get the joke that is Casa de Mi Padre or not, you've got to admire Ferrell. Clearly, he isn't only in it for the pesos.
Tara Brady
Irish Times
June 11, 2012
In this bat-crazy Mexican telenovela, replete with flimsy scenery and fake horses, Ferrell's stilted Spanish delivery chimes perfectly with the stilted, soapy dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jason Best
Movie Talk
June 11, 2012
A spoof of Mexican Westerns and Latin American telenovelas, Casa de mi padre is a truly bizarre entry in Will Ferrell's filmography - a very broad, Spanish-language comedy that sends up a pair of genres few Anglophone viewers will have encountered.
Robbie Collin
Daily Telegraph (UK)
June 8, 2012
No es cómico, Señor Ferrell.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Allan Hunter
Daily Express (UK)
June 8, 2012
An animatronic mountain lion proves to be the star of the show.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Phelim O'Neill
Guardian
June 7, 2012
It's all a little undercooked, playing more like an extended version of a very funny trailer than an actual, full-bodied comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Shaun Munro
What Culture
June 7, 2012
Like a supermarket enchilada, it initially seems appealing but you quickly realise it lacks flavour.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Nigel Andrews
Financial Times
June 7, 2012
It's a one-joke film and that's the joke.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Adam Lee Davies
Little White Lies
June 7, 2012
Vámonos, amigos!, murmuró, y los vaqueros montó en la crepúsculo friscalatito...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
June 7, 2012
The plot is genuinely clever, and there's a continual stream of knowing gags that'll keep fans of B-movies chuckling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
June 6, 2012
The script is disappointing and the film largely plays out like an extended comedy sketch that quickly wears out its welcome.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Tom Huddleston
Time Out
June 6, 2012
Odd, intermittently amusing but wholly unsatisfying, an oddball experiment that simply doesn't work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 6