Casa de mi padre - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Casa de mi padre Reviews

Page 2 of 6
Nick De Semlyen
Empire Magazine
June 3, 2012
Often inspired but patchy overall, Ferrell's horse opera could have benefited from a sharper, even more out-there script.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matt Mueller
Total Film
May 29, 2012
A joyous, ramshackle celebration of sloppy filmmaking and cheapo production design.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Eddie Harrison
The List
May 11, 2012
Next time Ferrell ventures south of the border, he might want to take a gag-writer with him.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
April 21, 2012
What a strange concept for a movie. It's funny in parts, but I have no idea which audience this movie was intended for.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
April 16, 2012
... an over-extended SNL skit is exactly what the movie feels like, with chuckles instead of genuine laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
April 13, 2012
How strange is this movie? The scene in which Ferrell's character is visited by a talking white lion and escorted into a Fellini-esque dream sequence was the one time I felt I was in familiar Ferrell territory.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Matt Singer
ScreenCrush
April 5, 2012
One of the most admirably strange movies by a major Hollywood star in recent memory, though not an entirely satisfying one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
April 1, 2012
Will Ferrell took a chance with this one, and I'm glad he did. It's played 90 percent straight, and that other 10 percent is odd and hilarious.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Alonso Duralde
What the Flick?!
March 28, 2012
Some big laughs, but it probably would have worked better as an Adult Swim series.
Top Critic
Ian Buckwalter
The Atlantic
March 27, 2012
As a low-budget independent not necessarily intended for a broad audience, Casa doesn't have to bow to the middle-of-the-road multiplex appeal that handcuffs many SNL-pedigreed films. That works to the film's great benefit.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
March 23, 2012
Ferrell hurls himself into the melodramatic, heavy-breathing telenovela style of acting. And surrounded by actors who know the genre and get the joke (Efren Ramirez from Napoleon Dynamite among them), this send-up works.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Todd Jorgenson
Cinemalogue.com
March 23, 2012
Much of this material seems funnier in concept than execution, turning into a collection of throwaway gags and otherwise bizarre detours to pad the abbreviated running time.
Robert Denerstein
Movie Habit
March 22, 2012
Will Ferrell, the Spanish-language edition
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Common Sense Media
March 21, 2012
Jokes like the ones here may elicit dead silence, but Casa di mi Padre is the kind of thing that viewers may find themselves laughing at the next day, or upon a second or third viewing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
March 18, 2012
...a consistently disastrous and aggressively unwatchable cinematic endurance...
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Fred Topel
CraveOnline
March 17, 2012
It seemed like an inside joke between Will Ferrell and Adam McKay that I wasn't a part of.
Jeffrey Overstreet
Looking Closer
March 17, 2012
It's not just boring ... it's frustrating, because we now how much better Ferrell can be when he's given creative material.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Eric D. Snider
Film.com
March 17, 2012
I tend to be amused by Ferrell in most circumstances, and the things I like about him - his bizarre sensibilities hidden beneath a mainstream exterior, his unwavering sincerity regardless of his characters' absurdity - are on display here.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Violet Lucca
The L Magazine
March 17, 2012
That's not to say that Casa doesn't have its moments, but somehow the amount of time I spent laughing totaled less than the time I spend laughing during a Funny or Die short.
Kevin Carr
Fat Guys at the Movies
March 16, 2012
one of those films that I respected and understood more than I actually enjoyed
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 2 of 6