Casa de mi padre - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Casa de mi padre Reviews

Page 1 of 6
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
October 9, 2012
[S]ubtle humor that slips under your radar instead of bashing you over the head is what makes Casa one of the more adventurous comedies in recent years...
Rick Kisonak
Seven Days
July 25, 2012
How many superstars would devote themselves to a project this quixotic? Whether you get the joke that is Casa de Mi Padre or not, you've got to admire Ferrell. Clearly, he isn't only in it for the pesos.
Tara Brady
Irish Times
June 11, 2012
In this bat-crazy Mexican telenovela, replete with flimsy scenery and fake horses, Ferrell's stilted Spanish delivery chimes perfectly with the stilted, soapy dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Phelim O'Neill
Guardian
June 7, 2012
It's all a little undercooked, playing more like an extended version of a very funny trailer than an actual, full-bodied comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
June 7, 2012
The plot is genuinely clever, and there's a continual stream of knowing gags that'll keep fans of B-movies chuckling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Nick De Semlyen
Empire Magazine
June 3, 2012
Often inspired but patchy overall, Ferrell's horse opera could have benefited from a sharper, even more out-there script.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matt Mueller
Total Film
May 29, 2012
A joyous, ramshackle celebration of sloppy filmmaking and cheapo production design.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
April 16, 2012
... an over-extended SNL skit is exactly what the movie feels like, with chuckles instead of genuine laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
April 13, 2012
How strange is this movie? The scene in which Ferrell's character is visited by a talking white lion and escorted into a Fellini-esque dream sequence was the one time I felt I was in familiar Ferrell territory.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
April 13, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
April 1, 2012
Will Ferrell took a chance with this one, and I'm glad he did. It's played 90 percent straight, and that other 10 percent is odd and hilarious.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Top Critic
Ian Buckwalter
The Atlantic
March 27, 2012
As a low-budget independent not necessarily intended for a broad audience, Casa doesn't have to bow to the middle-of-the-road multiplex appeal that handcuffs many SNL-pedigreed films. That works to the film's great benefit.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
March 23, 2012
Ferrell hurls himself into the melodramatic, heavy-breathing telenovela style of acting. And surrounded by actors who know the genre and get the joke (Efren Ramirez from Napoleon Dynamite among them), this send-up works.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Common Sense Media
March 21, 2012
Jokes like the ones here may elicit dead silence, but Casa di mi Padre is the kind of thing that viewers may find themselves laughing at the next day, or upon a second or third viewing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jeffrey Overstreet
Looking Closer
March 17, 2012
It's not just boring ... it's frustrating, because we now how much better Ferrell can be when he's given creative material.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Eric D. Snider
Film.com
March 17, 2012
I tend to be amused by Ferrell in most circumstances, and the things I like about him - his bizarre sensibilities hidden beneath a mainstream exterior, his unwavering sincerity regardless of his characters' absurdity - are on display here.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Caryn James
James on screenS
March 16, 2012
This Spanish-language spoof of bad old Western movies is like a looser, goofier version of a Christopher Guest film.
James Verniere
Boston Herald
March 16, 2012
'Casa de mi Padre,' a comedy spoof from Will Ferrell and company, may be the mostly Spanish-language answer to Three Amigos.'
Full Review | Original Score: B plus
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
March 16, 2012
Relatively tame when it comes to mindlessness, finding more joy in Armando's inability to roll a cigarette than the potential of his heroic posture.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
March 16, 2012
Ferrell is an hombre loco. Mi gusta.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 6