Casa de mi padre - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Casa de mi padre Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Kristal Cooper
We Got This Covered
September 15, 2012
Unfortunately for Casa de Mi Padre there's a very fine line between smart-stupid and slapdash-stupid.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
Billy Tatum
We Got This Covered
January 23, 2013
Unfortunately for Casa de Mi Padre there's a very fine line between smart-stupid and slapdash-stupid.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Eddie Harrison
The List
May 11, 2012
Next time Ferrell ventures south of the border, he might want to take a gag-writer with him.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
March 15, 2012
The film feels ultimately hollow, perhaps because mocking soap operas is the comic's equivalent of shooting fish tacos in a barrel.
Top Critic
Soren Anderson
Seattle Times
March 15, 2012
They set out to make a bad movie. They succeeded.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Shaun Munro
What Culture
June 7, 2012
Like a supermarket enchilada, it initially seems appealing but you quickly realise it lacks flavour.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Violet Lucca
The L Magazine
March 17, 2012
That's not to say that Casa doesn't have its moments, but somehow the amount of time I spent laughing totaled less than the time I spend laughing during a Funny or Die short.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
March 15, 2012
The movie is only 84 minutes long, including credit cookies, but that is quite long enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Alonso Duralde
What the Flick?!
March 28, 2012
Some big laughs, but it probably would have worked better as an Adult Swim series.
Adam Lee Davies
Little White Lies
June 7, 2012
Vámonos, amigos!, murmuró, y los vaqueros montó en la crepúsculo friscalatito...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Diego Semerene
Slant Magazine
March 12, 2012
This is one of those nasty little films that tries very hard to obscure its misogynist and racist premise through pseudo political critique.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Kevin Lally
Film Journal International
March 14, 2012
If the idea of Will Ferrell speaking Spanish seems like enough to sustain an entire feature, this eccentric but flat comedy is for you.
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
San Francisco Chronicle
March 15, 2012
It's really strange, and it's really subtitled.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Tim Grierson
Screen International
March 12, 2012
Despite a few flashes of inspired brilliance, this goofy curio just isn't consistently funny, opting instead to coast on the novelty of its premise.
Robbie Collin
Daily Telegraph (UK)
June 8, 2012
No es cómico, Señor Ferrell.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Chris Barsanti
Filmcritic.com
March 15, 2012
Bush-league stuff - a satire in search of a real target.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Katey Rich
CinemaBlend.com
March 15, 2012
It starts feeling like a long series of in-jokes, gags that seemed funny on the set but barely ought to be worthy of a blooper reel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Tom Huddleston
Time Out
June 6, 2012
Odd, intermittently amusing but wholly unsatisfying, an oddball experiment that simply doesn't work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
March 15, 2012
An unfunny Spanish movie that worked best as a two-minute trailer.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Hollywood Reporter
March 12, 2012
It makes sense that this Spanish-lingo farce plays very much like an SNL sketch. The only problem is that it packs about as many laughs into its 85 minutes as a good skit does in eight or 10.
Page 1 of 6