Casa de mi padre Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 8, 2019
Whilst this comic experiment certainly stands head and shoulders above some of Ferrell's more mediocre projects, it still feels a million miles away from the pinnacle which was Anchorman.
January 4, 2019
Ferrell is funny, as usual, and plays off surprisingly well against Bernal and Luna, who are frequent collaborators in more than one language.
October 9, 2012
[S]ubtle humor that slips under your radar instead of bashing you over the head is what makes Casa one of the more adventurous comedies in recent years...
July 25, 2012
How many superstars would devote themselves to a project this quixotic? Whether you get the joke that is Casa de Mi Padre or not, you've got to admire Ferrell. Clearly, he isn't only in it for the pesos.
June 11, 2012
In this bat-crazy Mexican telenovela, replete with flimsy scenery and fake horses, Ferrell's stilted Spanish delivery chimes perfectly with the stilted, soapy dialogue.
June 7, 2012
It's all a little undercooked, playing more like an extended version of a very funny trailer than an actual, full-bodied comedy.
June 7, 2012
The plot is genuinely clever, and there's a continual stream of knowing gags that'll keep fans of B-movies chuckling.
June 3, 2012
Often inspired but patchy overall, Ferrell's horse opera could have benefited from a sharper, even more out-there script.
May 29, 2012
A joyous, ramshackle celebration of sloppy filmmaking and cheapo production design.
April 16, 2012
... an over-extended SNL skit is exactly what the movie feels like, with chuckles instead of genuine laughs.
April 13, 2012
How strange is this movie? The scene in which Ferrell's character is visited by a talking white lion and escorted into a Fellini-esque dream sequence was the one time I felt I was in familiar Ferrell territory.
April 13, 2012
April 1, 2012
Will Ferrell took a chance with this one, and I'm glad he did. It's played 90 percent straight, and that other 10 percent is odd and hilarious.
March 27, 2012
As a low-budget independent not necessarily intended for a broad audience, Casa doesn't have to bow to the middle-of-the-road multiplex appeal that handcuffs many SNL-pedigreed films. That works to the film's great benefit.
March 23, 2012
Ferrell hurls himself into the melodramatic, heavy-breathing telenovela style of acting. And surrounded by actors who know the genre and get the joke (Efren Ramirez from Napoleon Dynamite among them), this send-up works.
March 21, 2012
Jokes like the ones here may elicit dead silence, but Casa di mi Padre is the kind of thing that viewers may find themselves laughing at the next day, or upon a second or third viewing.
March 17, 2012
It's not just boring ... it's frustrating, because we now how much better Ferrell can be when he's given creative material.
March 17, 2012
I tend to be amused by Ferrell in most circumstances, and the things I like about him - his bizarre sensibilities hidden beneath a mainstream exterior, his unwavering sincerity regardless of his characters' absurdity - are on display here.
March 16, 2012
This Spanish-language spoof of bad old Western movies is like a looser, goofier version of a Christopher Guest film.
March 16, 2012
'Casa de mi Padre,' a comedy spoof from Will Ferrell and company, may be the mostly Spanish-language answer to Three Amigos.'
Page 1 of 3