Cashback - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cashback Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 8, 2008
A little too mopey and sexist for its own good. But the cast is engaging enough to keep us interested
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 31, 2007
I think this filmmaker has a future.
July 28, 2007
A good writer starts with characters and plot and allows the themes to come naturally from the story. Sean Ellis' script for Cashback is all theme, and it's not that interesting a one to begin with.
July 28, 2007
The first thing one will probably respond to, after the brief rampant nudity, is the exquisite cinematography by Angus Hudson.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 25, 2007
Cashback aspires to be equal parts Volkswagen ad and Nicholson Baker's The Fermata, yet compares unfavorably to both.
Full Review | Original Score: D
July 21, 2007
Ellis seems to believe that artists have an enlightened sense of beauty and greater access to it than common folk. And he may be right: He's clearly mastered the skill of convincing art-school chicks to take their clothes off.
Read More | Original Score: C-
July 21, 2007
Cashback is light, smart, and enjoyable, and it makes me eager to see what Ellis has planned for his next outing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 20, 2007
The film lags badly in the middle; the flashbacks to Ben's childhood aren't especially interesting and the lengthy soccer sequence is sheer dead weight.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 20, 2007
As observers we can project our own fantasies onto Ben's, and [director] Ellis enhances this dreamy effect with low-budget ingenuity, like cleverly executing location changes in the same unbroken shot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 20, 2007
Imagine Kevin Smith with a background in poetry and painting instead of comic books and bestiality jokes, and you'll have an idea of what to expect from an exciting new filmmaker named Sean Ellis, whose terrific debut is called Cashback.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 20, 2007
It's no small trick to blend fantasy, slapstick and genuine emotion, but [director] Ellis pulls it off with whimsy to spare.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 20, 2007
Cashback's eccentricity holds, but Ellis and his audience would have benefited from a clearer direction and a bit more restraint.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 20, 2007
Beware films with protagonists depicted as vastly more sensitive than their fellow characters. The result may be a crock like Cashback.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
July 20, 2007
[Director] Ellis has rounded up all the actors for this feature adaptation but doesn't add much to the 18-minute original besides a tedious boy-meets-girl.
July 20, 2007
The movie is lightweight, as it should be. It doesn't get all supercharged. Ben and Sharon, despite setbacks, are delighted to be admired by such wonderful partners, and we are happy for them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 20, 2007
CASHBACK is a likable film that is bolstered by Ellis' terrific eye for composition.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 20, 2007
...focuses on a pervert who thinks he's a romantic. The more sincere this guy gets about his leering, the more he creeps you out.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
July 20, 2007
Funny but not really profound.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 20, 2007
A flair for language both cinematic and verbal elevates an ordinary coming-of-age comedy of little substance.
July 19, 2007
Cashback remains a striking cinematic debut for Ellis and a fluid detour into the hidden pockets of the mind.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 3