Cashback - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cashback Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 8, 2008
A little too mopey and sexist for its own good. But the cast is engaging enough to keep us interested
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 7, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 31, 2007
I think this filmmaker has a future.
July 28, 2007
The first thing one will probably respond to, after the brief rampant nudity, is the exquisite cinematography by Angus Hudson.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 27, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 21, 2007
Cashback is light, smart, and enjoyable, and it makes me eager to see what Ellis has planned for his next outing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 20, 2007
As observers we can project our own fantasies onto Ben's, and [director] Ellis enhances this dreamy effect with low-budget ingenuity, like cleverly executing location changes in the same unbroken shot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 20, 2007
Imagine Kevin Smith with a background in poetry and painting instead of comic books and bestiality jokes, and you'll have an idea of what to expect from an exciting new filmmaker named Sean Ellis, whose terrific debut is called Cashback.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 20, 2007
It's no small trick to blend fantasy, slapstick and genuine emotion, but [director] Ellis pulls it off with whimsy to spare.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 20, 2007
The movie is lightweight, as it should be. It doesn't get all supercharged. Ben and Sharon, despite setbacks, are delighted to be admired by such wonderful partners, and we are happy for them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 20, 2007
CASHBACK is a likable film that is bolstered by Ellis' terrific eye for composition.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 20, 2007
A flair for language both cinematic and verbal elevates an ordinary coming-of-age comedy of little substance.
July 19, 2007
Cashback remains a striking cinematic debut for Ellis and a fluid detour into the hidden pockets of the mind.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 19, 2007
A very romantic portrait of a young artist as he ponders love, beauty and living in the moment.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 19, 2007
A sleek little meditation on beauty, desire, love and time. Now and then, it's fairly sophisticated stuff.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 17, 2007
Somehow, Ellis manages to combine a Gen-X slacker film with a touching coming-of-age movie... and it works.
| Original Score: 4/5
July 17, 2007
Wong Kar-wai on aisle 4 and Michel Gondry on aisle 6, with Kevin Smith as mop jockey at all points in between -- such is the lost-in-the-supermarket milieu of writer-director Sean Ellis's whimsical comedy.
July 16, 2007
Guaranteed to be a hit with onanistic adolescent boys blinded by raging hormones.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 16, 2007
...heralds the arrival of a fiercely original cinematic presence.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 3