Casque d'Or - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Casque d'Or Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ November 7, 2016
We really quite liked this, for what it was.
May 29, 2016
I loved this film! What a classic French noir from Jacques Becker. Simone Signoret absolutely lights up the screen. It is a tragic gangster story told beautifully and stylishly. I will definitely be checking this one out again, everything about it was just right in my opinion. Highly recommended!
March 23, 2014
Excellent. Simone Signoret was one of a kind. Today's young actresses could learn a whole lot from her work.
½ February 3, 2014
In terms of a gangster film, the plot of Casque d'Or is merely mediocre. But the depiction of love, passion, jealousy, hatred and nemesis is solid, particularly with the presence of the great Simone Signoret.
April 20, 2013
Signoret is fierce, tender, innocent and not, in this sad love story of gangsters and waltzes--The mastery of the style is impressive!!
December 28, 2012
The word 'dapper' was invented to describe Felix Leca (Claude Dauphin) as the fiendish gangster boss who never loses his cool until confronted with his executor, Georges Manda; moments away from death, his 'sang-froid' deserts him...
December 30, 2011
Um clássico do cinema francês, Amores Apaches fala de paixões impossíveis, no submundo parisiense em 1900. Recheado com traições e jogos do poder, é possível perceber o desespero dos personagens, que sabe que um dia, o que eles tem pode acabar. Com um roteiro rápido de apenas 90 min, o filme desenvolve cada um dos personagens envolvidos. A cena de Marie na igreja é uma das mais belas que já vi, assim como a cena final. Simone Signoret em seu melhor momento, em uma personagem amorosa, sagaz, humorada e que ao final do filme se dá conta, que para uma prostituta o amor é um luxo. Recomendo e mt!
January 29, 2011
Jacques Becker's tale of mobsters in Belle Epoque Paris is certainly well put together but something seems missing. Perhaps the character of Manda, the ex-con gone straight, is too strong and silent for us to believe in his true love and true friendship (although his actions reveal this). Simon Signoret's character too seems one-dimensional, without any insight into the emotional effects of her ever-changing relationships. Still, Becker masterfully evokes another time and place and raises the film above the cliches that a straight reading of the plot might suggest.
½ January 18, 2010
signoret is luminous in her role, but overall i have to say that jacques beckers leading ideas and seem to run the same course through many of his movies. this is kind of like breathless and countless other new wave classics without any real sense of style. i can respect this film for what it has influenced but i cant bring myself to say that on its own merits it is anything spectacular.
September 29, 2009
This film is in desperate need of a more charismatic leading lady. Simone Signoret wears the most unappealing smirk throughout the first half, a smug and amused little smile. She comes off like a cold fish, and that's really the problem with this whole movie. It lacks the passion it so anxiously attempts to convey. Nonetheless, it must be noted for its luminous photography and some astonishing shots.
rubystevens
Super Reviewer
½ August 17, 2009
simone signoret causes a whole lotta trouble but she's down for her man. the second impressive becker crime film i've seen. based on a true story, with old fashioned tragic romance that's not sappy and wonderful evocation of the demimonde in la belle époque
½ August 10, 2009
Doomed love is at the centre of this very, very French 50s thriller. Manda is an ex-con gone straight who gets caught up in a love quartet of a local gang member, gang boss and their moll, the radiant Signoret. What starts out bright and breezy turns increasingly tragic, yet the understated acting can't fully convince of the intense emotions supposedly involved. If anything it is also a paean to male friendship and revenge as Manda avenges the death of his old friend at the cost of, well, everything.
July 24, 2009
recommended by onomatopee.
½ March 24, 2009
Well made and entertaining French gangster flick that is in actuality a western in disguise. Signoret is majestic and the dialogue quite unintentionally funny at times - at one point two women are entering a bar and one says to the other 'we shouldn't go in there - its too dangerous and we might get raped!'.

The other replies 'That might be fun!'.
½ February 10, 2009
Un classique. Pas de psychologie, de l'action et du suspens. Le face a face Signoret, Regiani est parfait.
January 26, 2009
Simone Signoret is love. And so is this picture. The cast is great, and there's a lot of stuff going on. I must watch more Becker's films now.
December 10, 2008
A lovely French romantic tragedy gangster film.
½ November 7, 2008
The more I think about the odd moments, the better the movie gets. In fact, the movie is about the strange touches; Consider the title which refers to a prostitute's best asset, her hair! It's a love story in the chivalric romance mode.
Page 1 of 3