Cast Away - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cast Away Reviews

Page 1 of 8
May 16, 2012
one-man show
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 22, 2010
Tom Hanks' powerful, brutal and mature story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 25, 2010
As melancholy as it is affirming, "Cast Away" tells a darkly comic, occasionally punishing parable about what happens when humans lose sight of humility in life's grand scheme - an interesting thematic twin to Tom Hanks' own "Joe vs. the Volcano."
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
December 7, 2009
Remains one of the more vividly transporting films I've come into contact with. It's heartbreaking, darkly comedic, bravely observational, and ultimately, pure emotional poetry.
Full Review | Original Score: A
April 29, 2009
A gripping survival drama and one of my favorites of 2000.
August 7, 2008
The beginning and ending of the film are a bit underdeveloped, but that's just quibbling.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 3, 2008
Zemeckis' tranquil control never wavers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 8, 2007
I wish that all of the film's 144 minutes were spent alone with Hanks.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
July 14, 2007
This is Mr. Zemeckis' most confident directing to date. If he only had as much faith in his audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 5, 2007
Thoroughly entertaining and skillfully rendered.
June 24, 2006
Though Hanks comes across as blandly as ever, at least his solid performance shows he's up to carrying half a movie on his own, and Zemeckis' direction is at first as busily efficient as the protagonist.
December 6, 2005
It's really kind of ironic. The old Chuck's life is ruled by the clock. Once he's learned better, we don't get enough time with him because the author's decided it was time to go. Oh, well.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 6, 2004
While his philosophical ventures seem stuck in the shallow end of the pool, Zemeckis takes an important step forward as a filmmaker.
Read More | Original Score: B
January 9, 2004
This isn't a first time a long-awaited movie has turned out to be a crushing disappointment and it won't be the last, but the loss is made even more wrenching when one considers how little it would have taken to make Cast Away a great movie.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
May 14, 2003
It's a risky venture, and a fascinating, straightforward glimpse into the soul of a man.
| Original Score: 3/4
March 19, 2003
When I prayed to the film divinities that I wanted less Tom Hanks at the movies, I didn't just mean that I wanted him to be thinner.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 8, 2003
If all of Cast Away were as gripping as its long midsection, it would be overwhelming; still, even with its flaws, it marks another milestone performance for Tom Hanks as well as for Robert Zemeckis.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 12, 2002
Cast Away says what you (yes, you) would end up doing if you were on a deserted island.
October 30, 2002
An enjoyable, moving drama in which you'll believe a man can love a volleyball. Highly recommended.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 21, 2002
Hanks made more faces and walked around with his mouth open more than I might have liked, but he has a way of revealing his thoughts without words that kept me intrigued.
Page 1 of 8