Dr. Seuss' The Cat in the Hat - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dr. Seuss' The Cat in the Hat Reviews

Page 1 of 8
May 23, 2016
The book is a ten minute read. The movie's a 90 minute watch... The additions deflate the fantasies.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 22, 2010
Too mature for the kids who are reading the book.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 29, 2009
Should by no means be considered family fodder.
February 3, 2008
Is Dr. Seuss rolling in his grave yet?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
September 10, 2007
much of the film is padded out by the comic business of Mike Myers' cat, in a deeply flawed role falling somewhere between a stand-up dying on stage or an alcoholic clown harassing kids at a birthday party.
April 22, 2007
Unless you are prone to laugh at endless urination, expectoration, regurgitation, defecation, flatulence, and belching, avoid this rip-off at all costs.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
January 10, 2006
Burn the negatives.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 26, 2004
Mike Meyers brings this troublesome feline to life in an action packed adventure.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 9, 2004
Comedian Mike Myers creates a cat who is more annoying than charming, and most of the gags are out of step with Seussian sensibility.
| Original Score: D+
March 29, 2004
The movie should have picked a target audience and stuck with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 10, 2004
What's on sale in The Cat in the Hat is a free-for-all, postmodern pastiche that feels like a seizure
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 30, 2004
The filmmakers seem to have decided that the Dr Seuss charm was too simple for them, opting instead for knowing, crude humour full of pop culture references
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 15, 2004
I remember watching The Smurfs on TV as a kid--that doesn't mean I want to see a film with 100 shirtless, singing idiots that have been dipped in blue paint.
| Original Score: 1.5/10
December 31, 2003
What sick mind thought this was appropriate humor for a holiday movie geared to youngsters?
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 1/5
December 16, 2003
Fascinating to look at though we hate to sound sore, but this cat should have known that less is way more.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
December 5, 2003
Just in time for Thanksgiving: the Paris Hilton movie.
December 3, 2003
A flea wouldn't have anything to do with it, but dogs certainly have.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
December 1, 2003
Ever catch a family member sniffing your underwear? I haven't either, but I suspect it feels something like how I felt leaving the theatre...Argh!
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
December 1, 2003
The Cat in the Hat isn't so much a movie as an extremely long commercial for Universal's Dr. Seuss-inspired products and tie-ins.
December 1, 2003
...the film's gags degenerate into a kind of seedy burlesque...
Full Review| Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 8