Cemetery Gates - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cemetery Gates Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ May 16, 2014
Aside from some awesome gore, Cemetery Gates manages to be a rather tedious, badly made, poorly acted, and tedious piece of B-level horror cinema that does nothing to make itself even remotely memorable.
½ July 25, 2013
The trajectory and direction of this film is misguided by cheesy effects, goofy acting, and a trailer that overall renders the movie as a predictable mess.
½ February 8, 2013
Reggie Bannister vs. a Giant rubber rodent.

This has to be a cult classic.
April 23, 2011
Laughed my ass off while watching it.
March 29, 2011
Laughable and silly. The acting is horrendous (even for a B movie), but the one-liners from some of the victims are entertaining. Because of the bad script, non-scary music and lack of any visual effects to set the tone, it's not quite a fit for my "so bad it's good" pile. But it has a decent concept and more than enough over the top fake blood and guts to keep you going. 2 stars for the unique concept and obvious over the top gore, both of which I enjoy in a tongue and cheek monster film.
July 29, 2010
Laughable and silly. The acting is horrendous (even for a B movie), but the one-liners from some of the victims are entertaining. Because of the bad script, non-scary music and lack of any visual effects to set the tone, it's not quite a fit for my "so bad it's good" pile. But it has a decent concept and more than enough over the top fake blood and guts to keep you going. 2 stars for the unique concept and obvious over the top gore, both of which I enjoy in a tongue and cheek monster film.
½ June 20, 2010
When a couple of activists release a creature they rescue from a labatory, they and the rest of locals get more than they bargained for.

If this was a serious movie, it would have been very, very bad. But when you realise that it has it's tongue firmly in it's cheek, it only becomes quite bad. The story is completely over the top, and it the first time that I have seen a marsupial used as a monster. The gore is frequent, excessive, bloody and incredibly fun. The acting is pretty poor and even having Reggie Bannister star only just saves it. This is one of those movies that is quite fun on a Saturday night with a pizza and several beers. But if you expecting a groundbreaking monster movie, look somewhere ekse.
½ October 18, 2009
One or two good moments and thank god no CGI. Hooray to the man in a monster suit.
August 5, 2009
This was bad on just about every level. Bad acting, bad story, extremely bad effects, and bad characters.

Ok, so the blonde was very hot...but that was it.

The only redeeming quality for this movie is the term 'Sex buritto'.
March 7, 2009
What if the Scifi channel made one of their weekly monster movies with a hard "R" rating and then released it on DVD with extra footage in an unrated edition? You'd have Cemetery Gates. F-bombs, blood, boobs, and plenty of cheesy monster goodness.
½ February 17, 2009
Bad. Not even fun in a 'horrible movie to laugh at' sort of way. Half a point only for the animated bit.
February 11, 2009
This one SHOULD BE BURIED in a cemetery ! CHEESY !!!! VERY CHEESY !!!
January 2, 2009
Woohooo @ the animal rights activits! Helps creat movies like 28 days later Oi Oi!!!!!!!!! Wonder if this movie is any good... heh...
½ November 3, 2008
This is one of the funniest, cheesiest horror movies out. It may be lame but at least they have awesome fake blood.
Super Reviewer
September 13, 2008
Well i got alot i can say about this movie but for starters the only things it has going for is the amount of fake blood that was used is over the top high and the fact that Reggie Bannister from Phantasm was in it. Two activists try to let loose a Tasmanian Devil named *Precious* goes horriblely wrong people start ending up dead among the victims are some rednecks and a student film crew shooting a movie in a nerby cemetery of course ull be happy to see them go since there mostly stoned and some of the dumbest characters on film while two scientists search out to kill the monster, This movie pretty much has to be taken tongue in cheek all the way threw and only watched by fans of cheesy horror movies
September 1, 2008
90 wasted minutes of my life I will never get back
Super Reviewer
July 3, 2008
Some nice gore, but hampered by sub par acting, and a so-so script.
July 3, 2008
oh this is hilarious
this a great!
you must see it
another sci-fi original movie (i love them) and this one really came through with the gore, nudity, horror, and bad storyline and actors!
oh deary me. good for a laugh i say!
May 16, 2008
Prepare for loads of gore and guts; a perfect movie to watch with friends.
December 6, 2007
This is one of the best bad movies ever made. It has ridiculous amounts of stage blood used through out the entire movie. The movie isn't gory, but just has an insane amount of blood spurt out of anyone who is killed. This movie spawned the phrase "Turn on the blood".
Page 1 of 2