Centurion - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Centurion Reviews

Page 1 of 6
November 9, 2013
Centruion is an exciting and intense action/adventure film with fantastic fight scenes and strong acting.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 18, 2013
A darned entertaining outing from a director who knows action and doesn't share Hollywood's fear of period pieces that don't involve Greek gods.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 4, 2011
Michael Fassbender can carry a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 10, 2011
With a raucous, gruesome tone, this Roman-era British action movie takes us back in time in such a vivid way that we often feel a bit queasy while watching. If the story were stronger, we'd be glued to the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 10, 2011
The sight of a technologically superior occupying force coming a cropper in hostile foreign territory inescapably brings modern Afghanistan to mind.
January 3, 2011
Auteur cinema of a very narrow stripe, this personalizes a familiar genre to advance a singularly pessimistic view of humanity.
December 7, 2010
Director Neil Marshall thrills yet again setting forth his own vision of the gladiator epic that pays tribute to the classic tropes of the sub-genre, but is concurrently a revenge film and journey in to darkness...
September 17, 2010
Features a commitment to craft that helps overcome issues of storytelling by providing a visceral, violent experience designed to get you in your gut and bones more than in your heart or head.
September 12, 2010
It's a cat and mouse game where we are stuck rooting for the cat even though it killed and raped thousands of mice.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
September 10, 2010
If I believed in the concept of "guilty pleasures," I'd classify Centurion as one, but I think I maybe just kind of enjoyed it.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 7, 2010
A pre-chainsaw extravaganza where the Romans talk like James Bond and the Picts have better military backgrounds than the American generals who invaded Afghanistan.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
September 7, 2010
The real fate of the 9th Legion may never be known, but I'm sure whatever happened to them was more interesting than this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 3, 2010
Marshall's film has a good helping of subtle smarts, but he is more concerned through most of the running time with carnage and bloody thrills.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.9/10
September 3, 2010
Centurion is like 'Gladiator' directed by Freddy Krueger
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 3, 2010
Centurion wraps itself in talk of duty and honor, but really it's just another cinematic death-trip.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 2, 2010
Marshall is big on desaturated imagery, which imparts to the film's copious amounts of hemoglobin the look of squid ink.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 2, 2010
... fine for a midnight screening or a Saturday matinee (although it's too violent for kids) but doesn't hold up under close scrutiny.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
August 30, 2010
The film has a resigned bitterness, hard to shake off, that feels right for the experience of tough guys, from whatever period of history, who find themselves at the tattered edge of what they take to be civilization.
August 28, 2010
Anachronistic dialogue, happenstance plot turns and characters so thinly conceived as to be interchangeable all but counteract cinematographer Sam McCurdy's otherwise stalwart Cinemascope work.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
August 27, 2010
Centurion treats arterial sprays like Sex and the City treats shoes.
Read More | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 6