Certified Copy (Copie Conforme) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Certified Copy (Copie Conforme) Reviews

Page 1 of 7
October 4, 2017
Kiarostami adopts a lush visual scheme and almost lighthearted tone that provides levity to a remarkably demanding work, one that's as playfully deceptive and cunning as anything the director has made before.
February 15, 2017
Imagine a cinematic equivalent of a Picasso cubist portrait, but instead of showing multiple perspectives of an object in an image, it presents experiences from different periods in a life in a single narrative.
October 7, 2015
While the people those characters encounter readily buy into their story as moviegoers ordinarily would, Mr. Kiarostami invites his viewers to second-guess his film and their own perceptions.
May 12, 2015
Certified Copy reminded me why I love movies.
August 21, 2012
Abbas Kiarostami's Tuscan sun-dappled enigma is the cinematic gift that is going to keep on giving for decades.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
May 24, 2012
Binoche and Shimell keep us fully engaged with their characters throughout their conversations, and Kiarostami draws us in with his signature mixture of long takes and intimate close-ups
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 6, 2012
...impossibly romantic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 23, 2011
I could assess the performances (Juliette Binoche is better than ever). ... But I can't treat Certified Copy with a critic's typical detachment. I'm in love with it.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
October 25, 2011
Kiarostami has woven together a veritable tapestry of the mind: here a stray thought, there an oft-disputed theory.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
September 28, 2011
Tal vez intentar buscar respuestas a tantas preguntas sea no sólo una pérdida de tiempo sino contradecir el discurso sin ataduras que nos propone Kiarostami, lleno de interrogantes que no pretenden ser respondidas.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 14, 2011
Kiarostami is quick to stimulate the mind but not the heart; as a result he never finds a comfortable balance between intellect and emotion, leaving Copie Conforme feeling chilly and distant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 10, 2011
It may be merely a copy of life, but in its power, mystery, confusion and emotional resonance, 'it leads us to the original.'
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 20, 2011
The only thing I can say for certain is that we can put our trust in the hands of a master filmmaker like Kiarostami, who engages the mind at the same time he pierces the heart. "Certified Copy" is the real deal.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 18, 2011
It's like watching the two halves of Blue Valentine playing simultaneously.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
May 15, 2011
... an elliptical, unresolved story that may frustrate those who want all accounts balanced by the end of the day.
Full Review | Original Score: 89/100
May 6, 2011
So absorbing a work of such obvious mastery on all levels that one comes away immediately certain that the medium has just clicked up another notch.
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 5, 2011
If the term "arthouse" usually makes you cringe, [...] you'd better stop reading this and see what else is playing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 30, 2011
Were it not for the transcendent presence of Binoche (and her transfixing cleavage), I suspect Certified Copy might feel even more like homework.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 29, 2011
Sophisticated aspirations are realized without strain
April 29, 2011
Spoken in three different languages, with various coffee, wine, and bread products consumed by the characters, it satisfies on almost every level.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 7