The Chamber - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Chamber Reviews

Page 2 of 11
May 21, 2012
Starts with an interesting premise - Sam Cayhall is arrested for bombing a building and killing 2 children. This is a part of a bigger conspiracy by Klansmen. Cayhall's grandson tries to save from from the gas chamber. Sounds interesting? Actually fizzles out in the end with complete insignificance.
½ April 15, 2012
Not really a court room drama movie, more about releasing a man from prison. Has a couple of small twists but nothing engaging.
½ April 14, 2012
Gene Hackman is as good as always but 'The Chamber' is an insulting, unsuspenseful would-be-wise courtroom drama.
April 10, 2012
Friday, March 23, 2012

(1996) The Chamber
THRILLER

Sometime during the 60's two young boys were killed during a bomb explosion, and it was soon found out that it was linked with the KKK with Gene Hackman as Sam being a prime suspect and is being sentenced to death. Back to the present day, and an inpsiring young lawyer, Adam (Chris O' Donnel) wants this case to be his first and to prove that he relly wasn't the one that did it, for reasons that he knows him and is part of a family member.

Whatever message this film is trying to convey, somehow gets lost since they're far more heinous acts than the one that is made up!

2 out of 4
½ April 8, 2012
A very mature and moving film. It's a pity the critics failed to turn up to see it, which is the only conclusion I can draw from their dreary and decapitated "critiques". USA Today's "criticism" is an appalling and irrelevant nose-blow. if you want a strong story line and some very emotional moments, watch this.
½ March 25, 2012
Really enjoyed this film, or what I can remember of it, Gene at his best.
January 14, 2012
I don't like Chris O'Donnell, definitely not in this role, and I think the film turned out much too weak. If Ron Howard and Brad Pitt had stayed on board, I feel the depth would have been kept, and it would have been picturesque at least.
October 21, 2011
Good acting by Gene Hackman and Faye Dunaway. Some of the dialogue between Lela Rochon and Chris O'Donnell was trite and silly though. Good story.
½ August 20, 2011
Great acting placed right besides shitty acting. Worth watching just to see this contrast.
June 9, 2011
"L'héritage de la haine"
½ May 20, 2011
"In the name of mercy, let it not murder what little is left in my client's life."

Another fabulous John Grisham novel adaptation. A fierce and gritty endeaver from Director James Foley. The Chamber grabs you right from the powerfully emotional and nerve wracking opening sequence, and doesn't let go until the ending credits. It's a searing racially-charged legal drama that's absolutely riveting and packed with genuine and convincing emotion. A seriously strong film, one that shrouds the viewer with an ultra-charged whirlwind of emotion and legal prowess. A steller drama that pins you to your seat and injects you pure 100% adrenaline, I personally guarantee you that your pulse will race from the first minute up until the unbelievable ending. It's a nonstop thrill-a-second unpredictability that compells with it's touchy subject matter and hardboiled concepts. These Grisham novels make for excellent movie adaptations and The Chamber is no different.
Gene Hackman gives an absolutely brilliantly convincing performance of raw emotion, one that's award-worthy and also one of the best of his long-lasting and utterly lavish career. Chris O'Donnell is excellent throughout, and Faye Dunaway gives a searingly brilliant performance, she is a truly commanding talent onscreen.
May 2, 2011
The Chamber is a lit down and disappointing film. It is about a lawyer fresh out of law school who tries to get a reprieve for his racist grandfather. Gene Hackman and Chris O'Donnell did their best but there's nothing for them to work with. The script is so-so and not the best. James Foley tried to make this movie appealing to a lot of people but failed. I would not recommend watching The Chamber.
February 25, 2011
Ponderous and predictable waste of celluloid. The actors do their best but there's nothing there for them to work with.
½ December 26, 2010
Wow, what should have been a great film was just an absolute train wreck. The film is completely miscast except for Hackman and it is that miscasting that kills the film. Chris O'Donnell is a good actor but just is lost in this role opposite Hackman and Dunaway. The narrative to the film is not very compelling and honestly felt rather trite and overdone. After watching I read that John Grisham distanced himself from the film and called it a disaster. Explains everything.
½ December 26, 2010
Wow, what should have been a great film was just an absolute train wreck. The film is completely miscast except for Hackman and it is that miscasting that kills the film. Chris O'Donnell is a good actor but just is lost in this role opposite Hackman and Dunaway. The narrative to the film is not very compelling and honestly felt rather trite and overdone. After watching I read that John Grisham distanced himself from the film and called it a disaster. Explains everything.
Super Reviewer
November 17, 2010
The problem with this movie (and Mr. Grisham's book) is that the plot doesn't quite add up. Why would Adam Hall want to save his racist bigot grandfather if he is against racism? Is it because he is more against the death penalty? And why, if Sam Cayhall was a Klansman and a racist, would the black prisoners farewell him like they do?

There are too many racist ephithets and scenes that seem like they are glorifying the KKK, which is not presented as boring and stupid (although the Klansmen are presented as the bad guys). This film will leave a bad taste in your mouth. I'd skip it.
September 13, 2010
What can RT be thinking at 13%?. Excellent movie with three stars at their best. Ending uncertain until final moments. Get a life, Rotten Tomatoes. Rating of 80% would be more like it. Gene Hackman's performance matched quality of "Hoosiers."
½ September 3, 2010
although it's very john grisham, very 90's, i enjoyed it more than expected. good human drama, all the cast did great job so did the director.
July 3, 2010
The way this movie started, it had my interest right away, even though it was real sad. Chris O'Donnell plays an attorney trying his grandfathers case, who was a Klans man and is on death row for murder about to be executed in about a month. I thought it was going to be very hard to watch, although a couple parts were, it was a pretty good movie
Page 2 of 11