Cheerleader Camp - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cheerleader Camp Reviews

Page 1 of 6
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
June 9, 2010
Cheerleader Camp is really a guilty pleasure. The film is on par with Sleepaway Camp as being cleverly silly, yet somewhat scary at times. Cheerleader Camp is simply put, a fun little Horror film to watch. The film is not to be taken so seriously, and in the end, if you don't take it seriously, you'll discover that a fine film lies beneath its veneer of B grade fair. The cast is comprised of Betsy Russell, who would later be famous for playing the wife of homicidal madman, Jigsaw in the Saw series also in this film is teenaged heartthrob Leif Garrett and Playboy centerfold, Pamela Ferrati. The cast seem like they're having fun with this film and it shows on screen. Cheerleader Camp is not for everyone, but if you like silly B grade slasher flicks, give this one a shot. It's a better film than everyone suggests it to be.
Super Reviewer
½ May 15, 2008
A very poor slasher film from the late 80's. It's so cheesey and is more of a comedy than a horror of any sort. A similar film more recently made is Cheerleader Massacre, which is a lot better!
John2223
Super Reviewer
½ November 11, 2009
Give me an B! Give me an A! Give me an D!
What does that spell? BAD.
Yes, pretty bad, cheesy and stupid slasher with a couple of funny moments, some gore and nudity.
If you're a fan of the slasher genre, it's worth a look. It's certainly not the worst I've ever seen. Otherwise...Skip it!
Super Reviewer
May 28, 2008
This movie is in the same vein as all the other kinda girls being stalked by a killer movies except for the fact that this one isnt as good as the rest like slumber party masscare, sleepaway camp etc. Girls at a cheerleading camp are being killed off one by one some twists and turns but the payoff at the end is small at best worth a watch to your its so bad it might be good section of 80's horror
Super Reviewer
June 30, 2008
Not much to write home about.
January 3, 2013
God I wish I can erase this one out of my memory but also erase it from ever existing. This low grade slasher film which is part Friday the 13th and Bring It On and some Meatballs-style hi-jinks thrown in for bad measure. 80's B movie Queen Betsy Russell stars as an emotionally fragile cheerleader who, with her squad including her boyfiend(Leif Garrett, yes folks Leif Garrett) go to Camp Harrah, a cheerleader camp where competitions are held. The cheerleaders are easily picked off one by one, due to the fact that they are not the brightest bunch of kids and they rightfully deserve it. Lucinda Dickey from Breakin' fame is on hand as the team's mascot who does a breakdance in her alligator costume! Everything about this movie is terrible, from the acting, directing and the story nothing is worth mentioning unless you want to see Leif Garrett in his undies then this is the movie for you, otherwise forget it.
January 26, 2011
I'm conflicted, there were a couple of good death scenes, and I loved the ending, but Russell is the only good actor here and she barely gets to do anything interesting and there was so much boring stuff going on throughout. I like it, but I don't like it too.
June 12, 2012
It is what it is, but that does not mean it is no good. The film is super ultra lame and that is cool! The fat guy in here is pretty fun although I wonder what it would be like if Chris Farley or Artie Lagne took on that role. Cheerleader Camp is ever so tasteful as cheerleaders five: girls (one of them a mascot) and two guys (one a potential party guy and other hideous) make their visit to Camp Hurrah. Once there, Alison (Betsy Russell) starts to notice her hideous boyfriend flirting with other girls unleashing a jealousy that has whatever girl killed within the next twenty four hours. A slasher, you bet your sweet butt. It may not be smart, but Cheerleader Camp is very entertaining in a lame way which features some decent gore, gratuitous nudity (its a buffet!), and ultra lame rapping that is very catchy. I enjoy this little gift I got. I would love to see a revamped remake or sequel. I would be willing to participate, wink.
June 12, 2012
It is what it is, but that does not mean it is no good. The film is super ultra lame and that is cool! The fat guy in here is pretty fun although I wonder what it would be like if Chris Farley or Artie Lagne took on that role. Cheerleader Camp is ever so tasteful as cheerleaders five: girls (one of them a mascot) and two guys (one a potential party guy and other hideous) make their visit to Camp Hurrah. Once there, Alison (Betsy Russell) starts to notice her hideous boyfriend flirting with other girls unleashing a jealousy that has whatever girl killed within the next twenty four hours. A slasher, you bet your sweet butt. It may not be smart, but Cheerleader Camp is very entertaining in a lame way which features some decent gore, gratuitous nudity (its a buffet!), and ultra lame rapping that is very catchy. I enjoy this little gift I got.
May 5, 2012
Porky's meets Sleepaway Camp. The overblown characters are pretty fun in their slightly knowing roles as slasher victims and with some reasonable attempts at kills the movie is watchable if generic.
½ April 26, 2011
A super awful and cheesy slasher film but one that is just loads of fun. Featuring some of the dumber scenes in cinematic history, Cheerleader Camp tries to be a blend of Porky's style comedy and slasher film, which results in loads of laughs that may or may not be intentional.
Super Reviewer
April 18, 2011
Extra cheesy & super corny plus bad acting but I guess that's what makes it an 80's horror movie classic.Add this 1 to your So Bad It's Good folder
½ January 13, 2011
If any movie sounds more fun on paper than it actually was, it's "Cheerleader Camp". All of the ingredients are ere for a camp classic, but boy are they wasted. The cast alone should be enough to warrant a winner, but nobody rises to the occasion. B-movie queen Betsy Russell mostly plays it straight here, and even worse, she keeps her clothes on. Lief Garrett comes off here are completely ridiculous playing a high schooler who looks like he's in his thirties, and co-star Travis McKenna is embarrassing. For whatever reason, he loves showing off his morbidly obese body, and his comic sidekick schtick is better suited for a "Porky's" movie.
There's nothing wrong with a tongue-in-cheek slasher flick, but this just isn't funny. The very idea of Garrett playing a teen-age cheerleader is funny, but the only laugh to be found here is the 80's-style rap number he performs with McKenna. Which leaves us with the horror elements, and they're not much more successful. The special effects are particularly weak, and the scares are non-existent.
It's weird that "FRiday the 13th" was the inspiration for so many of these films because this spends/wastes so much time on "character development". For the first hour, there are only three murders and only one of those are on screen. The fake blood starts flowing during the last thirty minutes, but by that time, it's a clearcut case of too little too late. The cast is full of male models and porn stars, but only Lorie Griffin made an impression in a funny, appealing supporting role.
The rest of "Cheerleader Camp" is a let down. This is merely a blip on the slasher radar.
½ June 12, 2009
That was seriously horrible. Bad acting. bad comedic moments, but the ending was surprisingly good. The bad guy gets away with it!
July 19, 2008
Ordinarily I don't like to award stars solely based on a film's poster art, but in the case of "Cheerleader Camp" I am prepared to make an exception. As for the movie itself, I'm afraid I don't remember a single frame of it.
December 12, 2008
All the naked porn stars in the world couldn't save this travesty of a film. Poor acting aside, nothing except for the naked girls is even remotely entertaining in this one. I don't want to sound unreasonable, but by 1988, there was simply no excuse for a slasher executed this badly.
½ January 30, 2008
One of the more mediocre slasher films from the 80's that is mostly comical when not dry and boring at times. Some highlights include dull and shitty acting from former teen heartthrob Leif Garret (has anyone seen him now? Yikes!) and Teri Weigel who some would know as an incredibly huge tittied porn star these days (look her up, it's good stuff). Anyways, the movie drags on, but picks up at the end when more people start to die, including the ONLY amusing character, an incredibly fat guy who is a raging party animal but shy around the girl of his dreams, who he winds up becoming boyfriend/girlfriend with juuuuuust before he gets his entrails pulled out. Meh.
June 21, 2007
this movie was actually a bore. most all of the characters were a bore and you could smell who the killer was from a mile away. the ending did make me laugh though but that was all.
May 4, 2007
Pretty decent little slasher flick from the 80's. I might have liked it more than others would, as this is one of my favorite realms of the horror genre. But at an hour and 25 minutes, it doesn't take a whole lot of your time away and it's not a bad way to waste that time.
October 16, 2006
80s T & A horror flick is pretty entertaining. As far as "watch over-sexed teens get slashed" movies go this one's pretty damn good!
I ALSO could not guess who the killer was...and I'm usually great at that!
Stars a weird barrage of B stars liek Leif garrett, Betsey Russell and some familiar porn "faces" like Teri weigel (Dig that small chest!)
Page 1 of 6