Children of Men - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Children of Men Reviews

Page 1 of 13
April 1, 2015
Children of Men is like an elongated episode of Doctor Who for adults, without the funny bits, David Tennant's oozy charm and the ironic sense of its own fundamental silliness.
December 29, 2006
[A] bloated adaptation of P.D. James's thoughtful, compact novel.
January 4, 2007
The year is 2027. Famine and pestilence rage unchecked. Infertility is rampant, and the world's youngest person has died at 18. Worst of all, the movies are dull.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 28, 2009
Few recent films have so stunned me in segments, and so frustrated me as a whole
April 1, 2015
Children of Men founders in its latter moments -- not a lot, but enough. Its failure is less one of plot than of something deeper, a composing idea to undergird the plot.
April 1, 2015
By letting his film lapse into a standard action movie, Cuaron I think has suffered a regrettable failure of imagination.
January 7, 2007
This is a film that had a great deal potential, but got too involved in its action scenes.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/10
December 22, 2006
The story, based on P.D. James' novel, grabs you at first, but its grip slackens as the unanswered questions and murky plot developments add up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 1, 2015
P.D. James's novel must have made more sense than Cuarón's cheerful but incoherent screen adaptation.
January 4, 2007
A stylish mish-mash of dystopian clichés.
September 4, 2006
An ugly mix of contemporary issues is hacked to unrecognizable bits in this tame, at times insipid thriller trying to impress with impossibly generic analogies to our own time.
September 22, 2006
It's a movie that only sci-fi nerds are going to enjoy.
January 9, 2007
Yes, kids, Children of Men is one of those bleakly futuristic "In a World" movies, a genre that's constantly reproducing itself in the semi-infantile world of adult movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 21, 2006
Messy, unfocussed sci-fi.
Full Review | Original Score: C
November 10, 2006
There is much about the film that is impressive, but ultimately we do not care enough about the characters, so our journey is a frustrating one.
December 27, 2006
Confusion reigns supreme in this preachy and pretentious picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 4, 2007
The story, despite its nominally fascinating nature, never barrels forth the way it needs to. It plods. How a director as versatile and inventive as Cuarón managed that is a mystery greater than any found in the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 9, 2007
There are no more children left in the world! A world where Pixar gives up movies for CG-animated Select Comfort Sleep-Number Bed commercials.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 17, 2007
What I find particularly irksome about it is its pseudo-humanism and its calculating political correctness.
April 1, 2015
Here is your post-holiday depression pill: Children of Men. Not to relieve depression. To cause it.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 13