Children of Men - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Children of Men Reviews

Page 2 of 2120
April 22, 2017
Hace tpo que quería volver a ver "Children of men" (2006). Recuerdo que la vi solo 1 vez hace 10 años pq la encontré demasiado buena. Pues ayer volví a verla y me pareció incluso mejor de lo que la recordaba. Aunque yo creo que tb se debe a que hoy soy mejor espectador que hace 10 años.

"Children of men" me parece un gran ejemplo de que como con una premisa simple y clara puedes hacer una gran película. Eso sí, le tienes que poner talento en los personajes, el universo, y el lenguaje cinematográfico. La distopía representada en la peli creo que roza la perfección. Los detalles son exquisitos, hay mucho por ver para entender el mundo creado por los guionistas. Lo más terrible es que esta película de 11 años de edad parece hoy más vigente que nunca, con la crisis de los inmigrantes sirios, el auge de la extrema derecha en Europa, y las políticas xenófobas de Trump. Uno de sus mensajes por supuesto es que todos los seres humanos somos igual de dignos, claro. Tambien veo el subtexto de aceptar la inmigración en la vida real, siendo esta asociada en la película con el ideal de la esperanza.

Gran lenguaje cinematográfico. Quizá fue en esta película donde por 1ra vez tuvieron alcance mundial las excelentes escenas en 1ra persona que son casi marca registrada del director Alfonso Cuarón. Hermosa fotografía tb, cortesía del 3 veces ganador del Oscar (2013 a 2015, premios consecutivos) Emmanuel Lubezki. No tanto diálogo, el justo y necesario no más. Brillante para relatar sucesos pasados, por ejemplo, pero no anda sobreexplicando cosas. Hay harto que tienes que mirar para entender. Eso es cine. Si quieren más diálogo que interpretación visual pues vayan al teatro, por eso son formas de arte distintas.

Nunca había pensado mucho en el título de la película. Siempre pensé que se refería a la ausencia de niños en la distopía de la peli. Hoy creo que mas bien puede referirse al presente que se vive en la película, algo así como "hijos de la humanidad". Así como "a esto hemos llegado". Hoy en día creo que "Black Mirror" tomó mucha influencia de la sombría visión de la sociedad y la raza humana de "Children of men".

Muy recomendable ahora que Trump es presidente. El autor del libro y el director nos dejaron un mensaje sobre el futuro. Elementos de ese futuro que lamentablemente ya parecen existir el día de hoy. Esto es arte. 5 de 5.
April 21, 2017
This movie is so good!
½ April 13, 2017
A modern science-fiction classic set in a futuristic, dystopian England in 2027; where humankind is infertile and on the verge of extinction. Adapted from the P.D. James novel, co-written and directed by Alfonso Cuaron, Clive Owen is a former revolutionary recruited by his estranged wife (Julianne Moore) to find safe passage for a pregnant refugee (Claire-Hope Ashitey). Cuaron uses this bleak world view to explore contemporary themes of terrorism, illegal immigration and environmental destruction. There are extraordinary sequences such as a 360 degree panning shot from the interior of an automobile in motion. A road picture that turns into a war movie, this is a nightmarish vision of Hell comparable to Godard's "Weekend." (A mural of Picasso's "Guernica" can be glimpsed in one sequence.) The innovative cinematography is by Emmanuel Lubezki. Written by Cuaron, Timothy J Sexton, David Arata, Mark Fergus, Hawk Ostby. With Michael Caine, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Pam Ferris, Charlie Hunnam, Danny Huston.
½ April 9, 2017
Original. Emotional. Immersive. Graphic. Courageous.
½ April 7, 2017
Outstanding cinematography and dedicated, uncompromising performances overshadow any questions that would suspend my disbelief in order to enjoy the brilliant work done throughout the movie.
April 6, 2017
The cinematography deserved its awards. Brilliant stuff that kept me entertained until the end. Clive Owen is as usual very good. I love the story. But the movie itself lacked tension and suspense.
March 29, 2017
Incredible movie. Featuring a story rife with thought-provoking themes, intense action and emotional plotting, this film is supported by breathtaking direction, stylish editing and set pieces, including the long-take sequences, as well as stellar performances from its cast, especially Owen and Caine.
March 29, 2017
I find it hard to believe that London is the only capital in the world to not be in complete shambles, but I find it harder to grasp that women became sterile for some odd reason, until Kee came. Plot points aside, Children of Men is a visual masterpiece with a unique form of cinematography. The moving shots of an almost anarchist society show a different, dark look at a possible future for humanity.
½ March 28, 2017
Very good visuals, story, acting and very intriguing.
March 17, 2017
One of the best movies ever made.
½ March 16, 2017
I forgot just how good this movie was. It has a very original story, and really well done production design. This movie also has one of the most impressive single take shots I've ever seen. Overall this movie is really well made, and I'm glad I decided to watch it again.

Personal Grade: S+
Technical Score: 87%
February 28, 2017
Just not a good film. From its dreary and dreadfully slow begining, to its dragged out and underwhelming ending this film doesn't rush to dissapoint, but it will eventually.
February 24, 2017
To me, Children of Men is a character study, in the midst of all the chaos around him. Amazing scenes and great acting make for a very interesting and enjoyable film.
½ February 8, 2017
Alfonso Cuarón proving again that he is one of the most visually inspired directors working today with this dark, but realistic representation of society.
January 29, 2017
Felt like watching a pick-me-up in light of current events. :|

Great cautionary tale.
January 28, 2017
Such an incredible movie.
January 26, 2017
The single shot sequences are true single shots [as opposed to being composites of multiple shots]. That's an amazing accomplishment -- and it's immensely effective. The single shot sequences capture the tension and urgency of the scene in a way that multiple shots could not. Take the ambush scene and the chase scene as examples where the audience is captivated from start to finish. If those sequences cut to various camera angles, the audience wouldn't feel the sense of urgency as greatly. In a single shot, your breathing tenses until the shot is over. One long single shot like the ones in the scenes mentioned commands not just attention, but tension too.
January 21, 2017
This was one of the films I was most looking forward to and I was let down. It isn't a terrible movie, but I expected much more. Clive Owen does a good job and the cinematography is good though.
January 16, 2017
Essentially a feature-length escort mission, Children of Men manages to keep the audience intrigued through a fast-paced, action-filled plot, while also managing to do an adequate job at world-building and adding depth.
½ January 11, 2017
I'm not exaggerating when I say this is by far the worst movie I have seen in my life. Absolutely. Positively. Awful.
Page 2 of 2120