The Choirboys - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Choirboys Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ June 28, 2016
Drunk policemen in Los Angeles is the theme of this cult comedy that has grown in fan base over the years.
½ June 26, 2016
Based on a novel by Sam Wambugh, a retired police office, this could have been a funnier film. Instead we get a film about a group of police officers who are racist, sexist, homophic and get drunk just about every night just as they are about to get out to do the night shift. It also makes police brutality look funny. Besides drinking some of their activities include going to prostitutes. Just what we need, an offensive group of characters.
The film seems to think it's a morality play as well when one of the older policemen is threatened with losing his pension fund just before reitriement and gets caught up a mess with the officers one night He eventually gets back at those who are trying to make him lose his pension.
Overall, just an unpleasant film to watch even with and excellent cast in early roles such as Lou Gosset Jr James Wood and Charles Durning. it most liilely could have been a much better picture
Made in 1977. As a footnote it was a failure at the box office and with the critics at the time as well. The author of the novel made sure his name wouldn't appear in the credits.
½ June 19, 2016
Rather repellent comedy about the shenanigans about a group of LA cops from the usually reliable director, Robert Aldrich. What made the film so repellent is the casual racism, homophobia, sexism and just about every other ism you can think being used as a source of comedy. The film does feature an amazing cast of of actors, many before they were famous, including Charles Durning, Louis Gossett Jr., Perry King, Randy Quaid, Don Stroud, James Woods, Burt Young, Charles Haid, Blair Brown, and Vic Tayback. If the attitudes of the police depicted in this film is to believed, you probably get a good picture of why many segments of the community have so much hatred towards cops. I sincerely hope that the casual racism, sexism and so on depicted in this film is not accurate, but I do wonder if this film is an inadvertently accurate time capsule representing attitudes of the time. However, author Joseph Wambaugh, who's novel this is based on and who was a LA police officer for 14 years, disowned this film and fought to have his name removed from it, so hopefully this is not what it ws really like. But putting these offensive elements aside, the film really want all that entertaining or compelling or feature any interesting characters. Told essentially through a series of "funny" vignettes, it's a meandering film that seemed to lack any kind of real dramatic arc. And the "comedy" was never really all that funs. Overall, this film is really only worth watching as a time capsule.
½ February 7, 2014
'Police Academy' joins 'The Breakfast Club'--EXCELLENT Example of 1970's Black Comedies!!
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ July 8, 2013
A bit dated but involving version of Wambaugh's novel. Excellent performances from a great cast of character actors.
March 14, 2012
Very minor Robert Aldrich film.
August 29, 2011
One of my all time favorite movies. Where can I finf a DVD or even better Blueray copy?
March 13, 2009
I like this film because it is both funny and serious and I love the choice of actors playing the roles of the police men
½ March 1, 2009
great fun police flick
September 20, 2008
Saw this in the Air Force. Was a policeman during this time. James Woods was so funny!
½ August 17, 2008
Why can't current comedies be this good? Back in the 70s, it seems, you were assured of very realistic, very true acting. Not to mention characters that had depth. Yeah, there's over-the-top offensiveness and stereotypes and racism, but this was 1977 -- you have to bear that in mind when watching a flick like this. So many funny scenes -- the duck in the park scene was my favourite! Dracula in the locker room was pretty funny too. The last twenth minutes became a bit more serious, and dragged a bit, but for most of the movie, I couldn't help but enjoy myself.
½ February 6, 2008
Total trash, a real sad low point in Aldrich's career.
Super Reviewer
January 13, 2008
I read the book when I was a teenager and found it titillating but I don't think I would enjoy this now.
December 13, 2007
oh man i love this book
December 8, 2007
Ummmm... not too sure what was going on here as the story was neither funny nor riveting. Over the top offensiveness and stereotypes combine with blatant racism, and sexism for a grand total of blah...
Didn't even finish..
October 12, 2007
yeah i read the book too. the only real difference is Brian Dennehy's ass. i got nightmares from all three.
½ June 15, 2007
homophobia at its worst
May 28, 2007
I personally enjoyed this movie.
garyX
Super Reviewer
½ April 8, 2007
Unbelievably offensive 70s "comedy" that seems to think that racism and police brutality is hilarious. The decent cast (all at a very early stage in their careers) would probably be less ashamed of appearing in hardcore bestial porn.
March 4, 2007
Not exactly rivetting viewing. Los Angeles cop story about debauchery after hours. Fine if you are into women bearing whips. So was this supposed to be a comedy - sorry it left me cold.
Page 1 of 1