Choke - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Choke Reviews

Page 2 of 7
November 20, 2008
The many opportunities to send up sex and psychiatry are thrown away when the film gets serious about Victor's bond with his mum. We are Freud alive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
November 7, 2008
There are plenty of interesting and unusual elements in this very strange film, but in the end it seems that whatever special spirit was present in Palahniuk's book has eluded Gregg and his collaborators.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 5, 2008
I found it choppy, I found it dull, I found it disinteresting.
November 5, 2008
This movie is only marginally enjoyable.
October 31, 2008
I laughed. I thought it bizarrely funny, but the laughter can become uneasy.
October 31, 2008
Slighter and tighter than its blockbuster cousin, shot in the neighbourhood of just five percent of its predecessor's budget.
October 31, 2008
Gregg, with his first directing job, has risen to the challenge, and adapted Choke without sacrificing anything and resulting in a less conventional film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 31, 2008
Rockwell's performance is so artificial it's as if we're invited to look past all the tics to the real human being who might be lurking beneath.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 31, 2008
Although the central performances are solid, Clark Gregg, in his first film as director has taken on a wildly ambitious story to tell, and that's to his credit, but it's more a curiosity of a film than a walk on the wild side.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
October 28, 2008
Cheerfully offensive and well acted, but visually pedestrian. We needed to share the character's mania, not just passively observe it.
October 25, 2008
Sam Rockwell throws himself into this thornbush of a role with a veracity that is curiously intensified by the (real life) damaged finger in his left hand.
October 25, 2008
More quirky than funny, this perverse satire chomps into a sandwich filled with issues like sex and belonging. Pushing the envelope every which way, this adaptation of Chuck Palhniuk's fourth novel is out to shock, confront and offend, which it does,
October 23, 2008
Chuck Palahniuk is a cult figure.He's the writer of, among other things, "Fight Club," which became a cult film if ever there was one. Palahniuk's writings are hilarious at times, disturbing at others, always adult and, more often than not, involve some k
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
October 18, 2008
Rockwell and Henke are spectacular as the sex-addicted protagonists, and the other cast members are up to the task as well. And that makes Choke wild and woolly enough to keep you laughing much of the time.
October 18, 2008
It's funny, in a twisted sort of way, but for all the perverse turns of the plot, it's a strangely familiar journey of a good guy in bad-boy clothing.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 18, 2008
Choke tries to be dirty but manages merely to be dingy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 18, 2008
Choke gives sexual anarchy a bad name.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
October 18, 2008
The movie's not quite there, but it represents a dark ride into the night that unleashes a series of precarious thrills.
October 12, 2008
It's a mishmash of a lot of cool scenes that don't really build, but those individual scenes are usually terrific.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 9, 2008
Too smart-alecky to sell the redemptive shift Clark Gregg has written into the story. It's very different, and less pessimistic, than Chuck Palahniuk. Thankfully, there is Sam Rockwell's trusty scumminess and an abundance of skillfully morbid humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 2 of 7