Chopper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Chopper Reviews

Page 2 of 4
May 25, 2001
Engaging even as it is appalling.
May 24, 2001
After about an hour, you realize that Chopper is sordid and bloody with no purpose.
May 24, 2001
Bana radiates the sort of warped charisma that explains how an ultraviolent convict could capture the public's imagination.
May 24, 2001
Like a lot of video-game violence, much of Chopper is meant to be perversely funny. But it's a different kind of perversely funny.
May 21, 2001
[Read's] unpredictability lends Chopper considerable suspense.
May 21, 2001
Did you ever feel like you should take a shower after watching a film?
Full Review | Original Score: C-
May 18, 2001
U.S. moviegoers probably won't understand what all the hubbub is about.
May 17, 2001
Bana's gift -- and his triumph -- is that he makes us somehow care about this magnetic monster, without ever letting us feel as if we've figured him out.
May 17, 2001
fatally unforgettable tale of a man who makes you ashamed to be human.
Full Review| Original Score: 7/10
May 11, 2001
Whether or not you care if Chopper lives or dies, you simply can't take your eyes off him.
May 4, 2001
Compelling and funny even when it is indiscriminately splattering blood.
May 4, 2001
A stylish, arresting, disturbing film.
May 4, 2001
Bana so inhabits his part as Chopper that it becomes hard to belief that he is just acting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 27, 2001
You walk away from Chopper feeling like you've met the man himself.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 27, 2001
If not quite pornography of violence, it comes sniffingly close.
April 27, 2001
It's Eric Bana ... who justifies our interest with a dazzling performance of blunt humor, unpredictability and an edge of menace.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 18, 2001
Full of flawed, stylistic overdrive.
| Original Score: 2/5
April 16, 2001
Eric Bana ... plays him as an engaging villain with a deft talent for grotesque behaviour and caustic one-liners.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 16, 2001
Dominik's direction is fresh and lively, and the camerawork is exceptional.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 15, 2001
As the film quickly loses perspective of Chopper Read's alleged crimes and lifestyle, it begins to slowly glorify him as an icon of self-made celebrity.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Page 2 of 4