Chopper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Chopper Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 18, 2015
It's an all too frequent occurrence to see the phrase 'instant classic' bandied about; Chopper was appropriately adorned with that title.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 6, 2010
Regardless of the credibility of Read's exploits, Andrew Dominick has crafted a film that plunges his audience into the depths of Australia's criminal underworld.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 27, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 21, 2007
The script for the film is taught, telling the story quickly and with fresh and funny dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: A
February 4, 2004
Apesar de soar incompleto, o filme jamais deixa de fascinar graças à atuação magistral de Eric Bana - que, em vários momentos, me fez lembrar do jovem Robert De Niro.
| Original Score: 4/5
July 1, 2003
there is an unexpected melancholy that raises this film . . . into the ranks of a classic tragedy
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 2, 2001
The fact that Chopper is so engrossing and effective stems from the powerful performance of Eric Bana.
July 30, 2001
Worth seeing simply as a flamboyant cinematic exercise that explores the possibilities of the medium in ways you won't have experienced before.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 16, 2001
"tough, provocative and challenging."
June 15, 2001
Bana is electrifying in this plum role.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
June 15, 2001
Chopper plays like a nonfuturistic A Clockwork Orange.
June 8, 2001
Chopper is never less than fascinating.
June 8, 2001
Marks an impressive debut for Dominik and a revelation of Bana's talent.
June 1, 2001
You cannot look away from him. The performance is so . . . strange.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 26, 2001
Dominik's presentation of events is original and thought-provoking.
May 25, 2001
Engaging even as it is appalling.
May 24, 2001
Bana radiates the sort of warped charisma that explains how an ultraviolent convict could capture the public's imagination.
May 24, 2001
Like a lot of video-game violence, much of Chopper is meant to be perversely funny. But it's a different kind of perversely funny.
May 21, 2001
[Read's] unpredictability lends Chopper considerable suspense.
May 17, 2001
Bana's gift -- and his triumph -- is that he makes us somehow care about this magnetic monster, without ever letting us feel as if we've figured him out.
Page 1 of 4