Chopper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Chopper Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
January 18, 2015
It's an all too frequent occurrence to see the phrase 'instant classic' bandied about; Chopper was appropriately adorned with that title.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
July 6, 2010
Regardless of the credibility of Read's exploits, Andrew Dominick has crafted a film that plunges his audience into the depths of Australia's criminal underworld.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
December 27, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jason Gorber
Film Scouts
June 21, 2007
The script for the film is taught, telling the story quickly and with fresh and funny dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
February 4, 2004
Apesar de soar incompleto, o filme jamais deixa de fascinar graças à atuação magistral de Eric Bana - que, em vários momentos, me fez lembrar do jovem Robert De Niro.
| Original Score: 4/5
Andrea Chase
Killer Movie Reviews
July 1, 2003
there is an unexpected melancholy that raises this film . . . into the ranks of a classic tragedy
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Gary Dowell
Dallas Morning News
August 2, 2001
The fact that Chopper is so engrossing and effective stems from the powerful performance of Eric Bana.
Frank Swietek
One Guy's Opinion
July 30, 2001
Worth seeing simply as a flamboyant cinematic exercise that explores the possibilities of the medium in ways you won't have experienced before.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Mark Freeman
Critical Eye
July 16, 2001
"tough, provocative and challenging."
Jack Garner
Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
June 15, 2001
Bana is electrifying in this plum role.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic
Bruce Westbrook
Houston Chronicle
June 15, 2001
Chopper plays like a nonfuturistic A Clockwork Orange.
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
June 8, 2001
Chopper is never less than fascinating.
Marc Mohan
Oregonian
June 8, 2001
Marks an impressive debut for Dominik and a revelation of Bana's talent.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
June 1, 2001
You cannot look away from him. The performance is so . . . strange.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Nikki Tranter
PopMatters
May 26, 2001
Dominik's presentation of events is original and thought-provoking.
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
May 25, 2001
Engaging even as it is appalling.
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
May 24, 2001
Bana radiates the sort of warped charisma that explains how an ultraviolent convict could capture the public's imagination.
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
May 24, 2001
Like a lot of video-game violence, much of Chopper is meant to be perversely funny. But it's a different kind of perversely funny.
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
May 21, 2001
[Read's] unpredictability lends Chopper considerable suspense.
Top Critic

Washington Post
May 17, 2001
Bana's gift -- and his triumph -- is that he makes us somehow care about this magnetic monster, without ever letting us feel as if we've figured him out.
Page 1 of 4