Chopper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Chopper Reviews

August 2, 2001
The fact that Chopper is so engrossing and effective stems from the powerful performance of Eric Bana.
June 15, 2001
Chopper plays like a nonfuturistic A Clockwork Orange.
June 11, 2001
It's a great style, it's a fabulous performance, but it never quite finds what it's searching for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 1, 2001
You cannot look away from him. The performance is so . . . strange.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 31, 2001
The ways Read twists and embellishes the truth become progressively less interesting.
May 24, 2001
Bana radiates the sort of warped charisma that explains how an ultraviolent convict could capture the public's imagination.
May 24, 2001
Like a lot of video-game violence, much of Chopper is meant to be perversely funny. But it's a different kind of perversely funny.
May 21, 2001
[Read's] unpredictability lends Chopper considerable suspense.
May 17, 2001
Bana's gift -- and his triumph -- is that he makes us somehow care about this magnetic monster, without ever letting us feel as if we've figured him out.
May 4, 2001
Compelling and funny even when it is indiscriminately splattering blood.
May 4, 2001
A stylish, arresting, disturbing film.
April 27, 2001
It's Eric Bana ... who justifies our interest with a dazzling performance of blunt humor, unpredictability and an edge of menace.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 16, 2001
Dominik's direction is fresh and lively, and the camerawork is exceptional.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 13, 2001
Dominik doesn't glamorize or glorify Chopper, but his film contributes to making Mark Brandon Read as mythical an Australian rogue as Ned Kelly.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 13, 2001
Too senseless and contrived to succeed as sociopathic comic opera, let alone as coherent character study.
Read More | Original Score: C-
April 12, 2001
For every viewer who is revolted, at least as many will probably be intrigued, if not charmed. For Chopper is nothing if not fearless.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
April 12, 2001
A vivid portrait.
April 12, 2001
The excitement and tension comes from never knowing when Chopper is really going to lose it.
April 11, 2001
Dominik's perspective makes it a lot less incriminating to watch the film.
April 10, 2001
With his metal teeth and deformed satyr-like ears, Chopper is a spectacular lowlife clown.