Chris Rock: Kill the Messenger - London, New York, Johannesburg - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Chris Rock: Kill the Messenger - London, New York, Johannesburg Reviews

Page 2 of 7
½ January 1, 2011
In "Comedian" there's a scene where Jerry Seinfeld & Chris Rock are discussing watching Bill Cosby deliver two sets of material on the same day with no repeated jokes; this is not something Chris Rock could do and he says as much in that movie. What he's excellent at doing, however, is writing precise, witty, vulgar, and funny routines, and delivering them virtually word-for-word as many times as possible. This movie mashes together three such performances (delivered on three continents) in a way that while allowing for his topical (Obama!), sensitive (n-word!) and obscene (sex!) humor to ring loudly is also distracting when edited to show him repeating the same exact sentence three times. 6/23/9
½ January 1, 2011
Not his best performance considering he still plays the race card into-mingled with his jokes.

Kind of like the nice way to say "I'm not racist... but".

And the Obama worship made it worse.

He still has what it takes but he continues to rely on the black / white divide to get laughs.
½ December 11, 2010
Really funny! Few jokes about US people that kinda get lost on the UK audience but still some absolutely hilarious bits as well!
October 20, 2010
i watched this live in london , couldn't stop laughing . don't miss it
September 16, 2010
pretty damn funny. makes you laugh out loud many times which is more than i can say for most stand up
September 13, 2010
Chris Rock is back on stage in 2008. Filmed (and mixed from) three different performances which at least in the beginning is a bit distracting. Pretty much follows the same route as his previous show with political insights and race issues handled more seriously (but still quite funnily). The fans of his earlier work are propably left disappointed again but as for me this works better.
½ September 12, 2010
Apesar de ter alguns grandes momentos, fica uns furos abaixo dos outros shows do Chris Rock.
August 25, 2010
Chris Rock is a funny and talented comedian. He's also a terrible actor with zero acting ability and very little on screen charisma,
½ August 25, 2010
The funniest man in comedy by far.
½ August 25, 2010
Hilarious till the end. What keeps me from a perfect score is the fact he never uses the rule of exeption.
July 17, 2010
Chris at his best to date. He has stayed consistantly funny over more than a decade, and this was my favorite special hes done so far.
July 5, 2010
I like him but this is not one of his best stand ups. Too repetitive at times.
½ May 23, 2010
"McCain is so old he used to own Sidney Poitier" :-)
Yet another great show from Chris Rock.
½ February 3, 2010
Not as great as some of his other stuff but the man is naturally funny. All very easy to him.
Super Reviewer
½ January 21, 2010
Chris Rock: "Barack" man, he doesn't let his blackness sneak up on you. Like if his name was Bob Jones or something like that, it might take you two or three weeks to figure out he's a black. But when you hear "Barack Obama", you picture a brother with a spear, just standing over a dead lion. You picture the base player from The Commodores.
citawijaya
Super Reviewer
½ January 14, 2010
It's funny as hell..
I don't really enjoy the political jokes but the rest of the jokes are awesome.
½ January 11, 2010
Everybody Hates This.
January 1, 2010
Gotta love it! Rock at his best!
½ January 1, 2010
Lite tröttsamt med rasist-humorn, men i övrigt var den kul.. :)))
December 1, 2009
So frikin hilarious!
Page 2 of 7