Christmas With the Kranks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Christmas With the Kranks Reviews

Page 2 of 7
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
December 4, 2004
Below average comedy that remains watchable thanks to a likeable cast but is very low on laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
December 3, 2004
Imagine someone telling you the joke about the chicken crossing the road repeatedly for 98 minutes. You have now imagined this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Daniel Eagan
Film Journal International
December 2, 2004
Christmas with the Kranks is a lackluster holiday comedy that can't shake the ghosts of past Christmas films.
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
December 1, 2004
No mínimo, uns 30 minutos poderiam ter ficado no chão da sala de edição. Ou uns 60. Aliás, para ser mais exato, 98 minutos. Esta seria a única forma de salvar este projeto.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Pete Vonder Haar
Film Threat
November 30, 2004
An abysmal failure, and I am a worse person for having seen it.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Peter Debruge
Premiere Magazine
November 30, 2004
The type of grim holiday movie that reminds you of all that is noxious and insincere about the Christmas season and then chases it down with a sickly-sweet reversal.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
November 30, 2004
I'm making my list of the worst movies of the year and I'm checking it twice, and I hope to find room for this frantically unfunny disaster.
Bob Bloom
Journal and Courier (Lafayette, IN)
November 30, 2004
You'd have to be a Scrooge not to crack a smile during this feature.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
November 30, 2004
A nightmare vision of a theist, conformist America... It's like 'Invasion of the Body Snatchers,' except we're expected to root for the pod people.
| Original Score: 0/4
Mark Palermo
The Coast (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
November 29, 2004
There's a line separating holiday spirit from fascist intolerance that Christmas With the Kranks races across in its opening minutes.
Full Review
Susan Granger
Modamag.com
November 29, 2004
There's no doubt that the Yuletide has been overcommercialized but that's still no excuse for this miserable, lamebrained exercise in sloppy slapstick and silly stupidity.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Liz Braun
Jam! Movies
November 29, 2004
A dreadful movie, and if you've seen the advertisements you've already seen the laughs -- all three of them -- it has to offer.
| Original Score: 1/5
Daniel M. Kimmel
Worcester Telegram & Gazette
November 29, 2004
Christmas With the Kranks leaves you with the notion that if you're not out there spending, you're just not doing your part.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Tim Cogshell
Boxoffice Magazine
November 28, 2004
There's one good gag involving the application of some Botox to Allen's face, but overall the jokes are kind of disturbing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
November 28, 2004
Egregiously mediocre and flagrantly ill-conceived in every department, this is, truly, the cinematic equivalent of finding a single solitary Saltine in your stocking and a pair of old tube socks beneath the tree.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Jimmy O
Film Snobs
November 28, 2004
Christmas with the Kranks celebrates the fascism of American Conservatism.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
November 27, 2004
Purports to kindle the warm glow of love for humankind in our hearts but actually reaffirms that the trappings of the holiday season are all that really matter.
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan
November 27, 2004
Luther says it late in the film: 'Why am I not laughing?'
Top Critic
Susan Walker
Toronto Star
November 27, 2004
Hollywood's version of the annual Hallmark Ho-ho-ho card. It's made to order: just slot in the perennial Mr. Santa Claus himself, Tim Allen, and stir.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Eric Lurio
Greenwich Village Gazette
November 27, 2004
Let's be blunt. This is an evil film. It defames Christianity, it's fascist, and while a number of the jokes work, it made me want to puke near the end.
| Original Score: 0/5
Page 2 of 7