Christmas With the Kranks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Christmas With the Kranks Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
November 24, 2004
Flat-footed holiday comedy.
| Original Score: 2/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
December 15, 2004
Humbug. American families deserve a better effort than this.
| Original Score: C
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
November 24, 2004
It's a colossal miscalculation.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
November 21, 2004
As with average TV fare, moments of genuine humor are rare, and character development can best be described as perfunctory.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
November 24, 2004
In the end -- the beginning and the middle, too -- the spirit of Christmas With the Kranks rings as false as the bell of a shopping-mall Santa.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 22, 2010
Unoriginal, unfunny slapstick holiday fare.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
November 20, 2004
One of the worst Christmas movies ever made.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
November 24, 2004
Agonizingly cruel to its audience and actors alike, and laden with jokes that have been done many times before, and the original gags have never been done for good reason.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Brett Michel
Boston Phoenix
November 27, 2004
It's monumentally awful.
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
November 23, 2004
Joyless and forced.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
November 23, 2004
A peculiar and at times even sour tale about the tyranny of Christmas.
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
November 30, 2004
I'm making my list of the worst movies of the year and I'm checking it twice, and I hope to find room for this frantically unfunny disaster.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
November 23, 2004
A USA network-quality script, cobbled together from parts of Home Alone, The Grinch and National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Chris Barsanti
Filmcritic.com
November 22, 2004
Christmas with the Kranks wants to toss out the holiday fruitcake but eat it, too.
| Original Score: 1.5/5
Kam Williams
Ellsworth American
June 1, 2007
Some pathetically predictable plot twists and syrupy sentimentality, which could only amuse a five year-old, lead the Kranks back to their materialistic senses in time for a Kodak moment which shouts a rather shallow Merry Capitalism to all!
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
November 27, 2004
Movies like this make me want to skip everything, including the remainder of my natural life.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Victoria Alexander
FilmsInReview.com
November 23, 2004
Okay. It's official now. I hate Christmas.
Full Review
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
November 24, 2004
A leaden whimsy so heavy it threatens to crash through the multiplex floor.
Brian Orndorf
FilmJerk.com
November 23, 2004
Hate Christmas and laughing? This is the film for you.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Kit Bowen
Hollywood.com
November 24, 2004
If Christmas means spending it with the irascible, over-the-top Kranks, then taking a Caribbean cruise really does sound like a much better deal.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 7