The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian Reviews

Page 1 of 10
May 20, 2008
It's all very plotty and ponderous.
May 16, 2008
If you ever wondered what The Lord of the Rings would have been like had Disney made it on the cheap, tossing the cast of Hannah Montana into Middle Earth, here it is. Caspian is two hours and 20 minutes of 'Whatever'.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 15, 2008
A pity that, other than the fights, everything else in the movie is equally bloodless.
May 15, 2008
I realize the first film (The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe) made almost $745 million worldwide. Well, some things make tremendous profits simply by showing up and getting the trains to run on time.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 16, 2008
I wish I could be more enthusiastic about Prince Caspian, an honorable and attractive adventure for children and families. But scenic beauty and spirited action can't conceal its dramatic defects.
February 27, 2009
Excessively violent but oddly dull...a Crusades allegory for teeny-boppers
Full Review | Original Score: C-
May 20, 2008
Prince Caspian sounds like he is channeling Walter Koenig, better known as Ensign Chekov on "Star Trek."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 23, 2008
Ben Barnes looks lost, with a thick Mediterranean accent reminiscent of Mandy Patinkin's avenging Spaniard from The Princess Bride: 'My name is Inigo Montoya--you killed my father--prepare to die!'
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
May 16, 2008
The struggles remain, but [director] Adamson has tweaked the plot, rejiggered the character dynamics and piled on the epic warfare. By the end I had overdosed on surly Peter, pouty Caspian and over-digitized shock-and-awe.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 14, 2011
It's a relatively entertaining romp, but it would be surprising if anyone is counting down the days until the third movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 19, 2008
Too many fights, not enough magic.
May 16, 2008
At least we're already acquainted with the kids, so we know their story, but Caspian, loosely based on C.S. Lewis' novel, misses the opportunity to deepen it.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 15, 2008
C.S. Lewis meets Teen Beat.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 22, 2008
If this is a movie for children than I can only guess the filmmakers had Donald Rumsfeld's grandkids in mind when they made it
May 25, 2008
Enough with the Jesus was a lion movies already!
Full Review | Original Score: 1.75/5
June 4, 2008
I really wanted to like this movie, and Andrew Adamson has made a polished looking film, but I had a tough time getting into it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 15, 2008
On the page, The Chronicles of Narnia thrived on fiery faith-based fantasy. On film, said belief is rendered bland.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
May 15, 2008
I suggest buying a ticket to Prince Caspian, going to grab a bite to eat for the first hour of the film and then heading back to the theatre for the amazing ending battle.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 2, 2010
Caspian is a visual sleeper hold from frame one; a constipated effort to erect widescreen wonderment, yet the production is missing dimension and needed narrative gusto.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
May 19, 2008
...bland family fare with high end production values. It feels about as real as a Disneyland ride, and what a fantasy film needs to do is convince you of is that even the most fanciful thing in its imagined universe is absolutely real.
Read More | Original Score: 5/10
Page 1 of 10