The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Eileen Jones
The eXile (Russia)
May 20, 2008
It's all very plotty and ponderous.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
May 16, 2008
If you ever wondered what The Lord of the Rings would have been like had Disney made it on the cheap, tossing the cast of Hannah Montana into Middle Earth, here it is. Caspian is two hours and 20 minutes of 'Whatever'.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
May 15, 2008
A pity that, other than the fights, everything else in the movie is equally bloodless.
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
May 15, 2008
I realize the first film (The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe) made almost $745 million worldwide. Well, some things make tremendous profits simply by showing up and getting the trains to run on time.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
May 16, 2008
I wish I could be more enthusiastic about Prince Caspian, an honorable and attractive adventure for children and families. But scenic beauty and spirited action can't conceal its dramatic defects.
Fr. Chris Carpenter
Orange County and Long Beach Blade
February 27, 2009
Excessively violent but oddly dull...a Crusades allegory for teeny-boppers
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
May 20, 2008
Prince Caspian sounds like he is channeling Walter Koenig, better known as Ensign Chekov on "Star Trek."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 23, 2008
Ben Barnes looks lost, with a thick Mediterranean accent reminiscent of Mandy Patinkin's avenging Spaniard from The Princess Bride: 'My name is Inigo Montoya--you killed my father--prepare to die!'
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
May 16, 2008
The struggles remain, but [director] Adamson has tweaked the plot, rejiggered the character dynamics and piled on the epic warfare. By the end I had overdosed on surly Peter, pouty Caspian and over-digitized shock-and-awe.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Alex Fletcher
Digital Spy
July 14, 2011
It's a relatively entertaining romp, but it would be surprising if anyone is counting down the days until the third movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
May 19, 2008
Too many fights, not enough magic.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
May 16, 2008
At least we're already acquainted with the kids, so we know their story, but Caspian, loosely based on C.S. Lewis' novel, misses the opportunity to deepen it.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
May 15, 2008
C.S. Lewis meets Teen Beat.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Richard Knight
Windy City Times
May 22, 2008
If this is a movie for children than I can only guess the filmmakers had Donald Rumsfeld's grandkids in mind when they made it
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review
May 25, 2008
Enough with the Jesus was a lion movies already!
Full Review | Original Score: 1.75/5
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
June 4, 2008
I really wanted to like this movie, and Andrew Adamson has made a polished looking film, but I had a tough time getting into it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Bill Gibron
Filmcritic.com
May 15, 2008
On the page, The Chronicles of Narnia thrived on fiery faith-based fantasy. On film, said belief is rendered bland.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Kevin McCarthy
WJFK-FM (CBS Radio)
May 15, 2008
I suggest buying a ticket to Prince Caspian, going to grab a bite to eat for the first hour of the film and then heading back to the theatre for the amazing ending battle.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
June 2, 2010
Caspian is a visual sleeper hold from frame one; a constipated effort to erect widescreen wonderment, yet the production is missing dimension and needed narrative gusto.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Beth Accomando
KPBS.org
May 19, 2008
...bland family fare with high end production values. It feels about as real as a Disneyland ride, and what a fantasy film needs to do is convince you of is that even the most fanciful thing in its imagined universe is absolutely real.
Read More | Original Score: 5/10
Page 1 of 10