Chrystal - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Chrystal Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Clintus M.
Super Reviewer
February 12, 2014
Ray McKinnon's Chrystal is a real undiscovered gem. Starring McKinnon's now-deceased wife Lisa Blount and Billy Bob Thornton, Chrystal is a startlingly real story of pain and redemption set in the "wild" backwoods of Arkansas. With its powerful themes and emotional scars, fans of Sling Blade should appreciate this film equally. It is no caricature.

I loved the setting, characters, and issues, but the pace was uneven, At times I thought this was a brilliant film, and at others I thought it ponderous. The film is also "wild" in many senses; it features picturesque scenery and savage yet eerily accurate characters. Lisa Blount is wonderful; I'd like to see more of her roles. McKinnon is gifted also; I have seen him play a wide variety of characters. Chrystal's bluegrass musical background is a great addition and even steals a few scenes. This is a traumatic journey, not for the prudish or squeamish. It represents outstanding independent filmmaking.
September 3, 2013
at times I wondered why I was still watching this movie, but yet I couldn't pull myself away.
September 3, 2012
100% my kinda movie.
July 8, 2012
Excellent acting and directing in this indie drama. Unfortunately it's let down by a rather weak and somewhat drawn out story.
May 13, 2012
I liked this movie even with all the uncomfortable moments. Great actors in this authentic Southern film.
April 28, 2012
Very crazy, but as always, Billy's dead feelings always stand out.
July 27, 2011
Tight direction and great performances don't quite make up for a meandering and vague plot.
June 25, 2011
This was...strange, but a truely heartbreaking story.
June 11, 2011
This movie was horrible. No real story. This is definitly not Billy Bob's strongest film-it doesn't even come close to Sling Blade if you get my drift. Don't bother on this one. A stupid movie about some whore named Chrystal who lost her kid in a crash. Very slow movie and the characters are flat.
January 12, 2011
Redneck Art House, the perfect way to describe this film. It's got an excellent script, great acting, a really good soundtrack, and I loved the setting too. Billy Bob Thorton and Lisa Blount's performances were fantastic. 4/5
April 30, 2010
I liked this movie even with all the uncomfortable moments. Great actors in this authentic Southern film.
½ April 1, 2010
Sad and I guess bittersweet.
June 3, 2009
They story is a little messed up but Billy Bob does play crazy mountain man well.
½ April 15, 2009
I liked this movie even with all the uncomfortable moments. Great actors in this authentic Southern film.
Super Reviewer
½ March 22, 2009
A really great movie. It starts out a little weird, like you don't know what you're getting yourself into, but it is definately worth it. You become really invested in the characters (especially the dog!)
February 20, 2009
Was a kinda slow and meandering a bit, but Billy Bob Thornton is usually good, and an interesting snapshot of the south. Authenitic music.
Cinematic art and decent acting.
November 23, 2008
i always enjoy Mr. Thornton in a non-Hollywood film, and this was no exception. while it didn't really "speak to me," i thought it was well-made and -performed. i noticed thematic elements of Shane in it, and for a deep South drama, i thought it was a LOT better than David Gordon Green's Undertow.
August 2, 2008
For a messed up kinda story, this movie had a peaceful tone to it. Somewhat simple overall, it was still all very well done. About a man played by Billy Bob Thorton who comes home from prison to his wife who is psychologically unstable due to the loss of their baby many years ago. Somehow they find peace in a very indirect way.
July 19, 2008
Billy Bob is always worth watching. This movie is no exception. Convincing acting with an authentic sound track.
½ May 27, 2008
A sometimes audacious, occasionally downright brilliant, always watchable work that somehow just misses being wholly successful.
Page 1 of 3