Cinderella Liberty - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cinderella Liberty Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 22, 2013
A subdued James Caan plays a sailor desperate to cling to something permanent - no matter what, in this 70s melodrama that, frankly, tries just a bit too hard to be memorable. The wayward seaman, the trashy barmaid, the rough-and-tumble son (who naturally, doesn't know his father) it all reads like an ABC After School Special - save for the performances of Caan, Mason and veteran Eli Wallach, he himself another lost soul. If you can get past the Paul Williams music (yes, that CREEPY Paul Williams) Cinderella Liberty is actually a decent flick, even if it may feel in parts like you've seen it dozens of times before.
½ March 13, 2013
Every once in a while you see a film that you just can't figure out why it's taken so long for you to see it. Everything about this is right up my alley ... It's a deliberately paced character study set in seedy urban locales, features a great early performance from James Caan and a really surprisingly different role for Marsha Mason. Probably like most folks, I associate Mason with the string of films she did based on Neil Simon plays. This film was made right before she married Simon and reveals an entirely different side of her. The closest point of comparison I could come up with for this film is "The Last Detail", and sure enough, this film is also written by Darryl Ponicsan, based on his novel. Eli Wallach, Burt Young, Bruno Kirby and Dabney Coleman all have strong supporting parts.
December 9, 2012
Forgotten '70s film with great performances by James Caan, Eli Wallach and especially Marsha Mason (who was nominated for a Best Actress Oscar). Written by Daryl Ponicsan who also wrote THE LAST DETAIL. Sailor Caan gets caught up in Navy red tape so he has to hang out in Seattle for a bit, then meets up with boozy bar strumpet Mason and her bastard street-kid son, and falls in love. Shot on location in the old-school sleazy porno district with groovy '70s tunes by Paul Williams. Emotionally satisfying ending, lots of character actors turn up in bit parts. Recommended.
June 15, 2012
I never realized how hairy James Caan was!
½ June 3, 2012
Doens't really have a happy ending. It is a different story, I'll give it that much. I think I might be a little too critical about the uniforms and wut not though. Cuz I was looking at his uniform and his ribbons were all sorts of screwed up and he was walking around like nothing was wrong. Plus, unless I was immagining it, the Senior Chief had that rating badge but was rocking a Chief's cover for some reason.
December 16, 2010
I saw this so long ago, I don't remember it. Quote: "We're man and wife in the eyes of (I forget) and the State of Washington!"
April 12, 2010
'She's 32. She drinks too much. She hustles pool. She's got a 10-year old mulatto son. She's got a different boyfriend every night. She's in trouble. And he's in love.'

That and the guide's description (A Sailor om leave falls in love with a weary Seattle hooker won for a night in a pool game) suggested it'd b a comedy, it's actually more of a drama. Still, with a solid Jimmie Caan, Marsha Mason, and scene stealing Eli Wallach, it's suprising it's such an unknown 70's film. Also, Dabney Coleman, David Proval, Burt Young, and a very young Bruno Kirby all have small parts.
March 5, 2010
Forgotten '70s film with great performances by James Caan, Eli Wallach and especially Marsha Mason (who was nominated for a Best Actress Oscar). Written by Daryl Ponicsan who also wrote THE LAST DETAIL. Sailor Caan gets caught up in Navy red tape so he has to hang out in Seattle for a bit, then meets up with boozy bar strumpet Mason and her bastard street-kid son, and falls in love. Shot on location in the old-school sleazy porno district with groovy '70s tunes by Paul Williams. Emotionally satisfying ending, lots of character actors turn up in bit parts. Recommended.
½ August 25, 2009
Extremely good drama.
July 10, 2009
Saw this a long time ago when I was really down, and, well, it didn't really help!
Super Reviewer
October 23, 2008
nominated for best picture at the golden globes
May 1, 2008
Know I saw it but don't remember...may have been drunk.
February 10, 2008
This is a great movie. The story is great, and by the end of the film, you'll find that you've developed an emotional investment into the characters, their actions, and what they're thinking. Great film...highly recommended. Also, on a sidenote - the song by Paul Williams was lacking in everything that actually makes a good song, but the score by John Williams was good, in my opinion. Very jazzy, and it fit the film well.
Super Reviewer
January 23, 2008
Barely passable film. I can see why it doesn't get aired very often even on TBS. Early Caan but not great Caan.
½ January 17, 2008
good movie even when watched for the first time 30 years after its making!
½ January 13, 2008
James Caan and Marsha Mason are outstanding in this film.
½ January 5, 2008
i didnt watch this pa!!
November 3, 2007
I enjoyed this film on mute, creating our own script. The names we chose for the characters were Popeye, Jamall and Cindy.
½ October 3, 2007
Cinderella Liberty is an earthy but very touching story of a sailor's love for a prostitute. James Caan stars in an outstanding performance, and Marsha Mason, in her second picture, is equally superb.
Page 1 of 2