Cinema Verite - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cinema Verite Reviews

Page 1 of 5
September 23, 2016
Topic is good but the movie consists of a lot of cringy moments
August 7, 2016
Entre lo publico y lo privado...
April 21, 2016
Somewhere between Maysles and Jersey Shore, you find Craig Gilbert
February 25, 2016
Reality tv was invented in the 70s, who knew. Captivating story of the first family to let cameras in their everyday lives, for better or worse. Now this seems rather dry and tame in comparison to modern day reality tv! Diane Lane <3, as always, with that 70s flare! The rest of the cast is good as well.
½ December 4, 2015
...but what's the point making it?
May 4, 2015
Not familiar with the documentary this is based on, and it took a lot of imagination to convert the scenes into the reality show, but the acting was excellent and Gandolfini once again played a role that only he could do justice to -- someone to fall in love with even as he does something of problematic ethics..
April 11, 2015
Well acted, intriguing, and perfectly set in the timeframe of the 70s, the problem is the glossy sheen that keeps you from fully entering the drama of the story.
It's rather typical of HBO dramas that they have a great story, but have a slick way of telling it that rarely allows you to be engrossed.
Oddly, the title cards at the end have the most impact with the updates on each family member and some actual footage from the series.
A decent effort here that stands as a marker representing the family without having to stick a camera in their faces again and invade their lives like the douche bag producer Craig Gilbert did originally.
This film does explore the creepy motives behind the scenes, and tries to show some kind of truth about these things, but it is a muddled mess, much like the aftermath of original series.

3 out of 5
Super Reviewer
½ November 5, 2014
Interesting, but I don't know the original show this was based on, so perhaps I would rate it higher if I did. Even without knowing, it was pretty good.
Very authentic 60's/70's look to the movie and cast are all good.
September 24, 2014
An interesting idea about an unknown subject (at least to me) but the problem was the same problem the producer had it wasn't too interesting, not edgy enough, at least by today's reality TV standards.
June 28, 2014
Inside reality television's first family.
Ce faux documentaire retrace l'histoire de la première télé réalité américaine dans les années 70, où la famille Loud y dévoile ses bons côtés mais aussi des moments moins glorieux qui seront exposés malgré eux au grand public.
Avec Diane Lane et Tim Robbins pour incarner les parents Loud, et James Gandolfini pour représenter le créateur de l'émission, on peut dire que le casting est de grande classe et les promesses tenues de ce côté. Les styles vestimentaire, architectural et capillaire des années 70 sont fidèlement reproduits. On assiste à l'émancipation féminine grâce à Pat Loud qui refuse le carcan sociétaire de l'époque et décide de dire non à un mari dont l'adultère devient plus évident chaque jour. On reprochera un démarrage lent qui tarde à nous rendre la famille attachante, mais la suite est intrigante et on se demande comment les images de tournage vont être assemblées pour la diffusion télévisuelle, et quelles en seront les conséquences. Un avertissement sur l'immiscion dans la vie privée qui n'aura pas été écouté...
December 21, 2013
I started this DVD thinking that it would be another version of American Splendor. Nope, this film is less post-modern and more dramatic. That said, I still liked Berman and Pulcini's touches that were also in American Splendor, i.e., mixing real footage with reconstructed footage.

The acting was superb.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ October 28, 2013
Inspired by the work of Margaret Mead, documentary filmmaker Craig Gilbert(James Gandolfini) has an idea for a teleivsion series to capture an average American family going about their everyday lives on film, worried as he is about any future cultural impact the Partridge Family might have. He is introduced to Pat Loud(Diane Lane, apparently stuck in 1973) through a mutual friend. She agrees to participate, even with the logistical nightmare of her husband Bill's(Tim Robbins) frequent business trips. The filming starts with her visiting their son Lance(Thomas Dekker) at some place called the Chelsea Hotel in New York.

Like their previous "American Splendor," Shari Springer Berman & Robert Pulcini take another pointed look at the thin line between fact and fiction with "Cinema Verite," grounded by a very strong performance from Diane Lane. Normally, I would prefer the real footage(which I have never seen) but aside from making me feel uneasy, I would rather go with this dramatizaion since the viewer can see how intrusive the cameras were into the Loud family household. As seen here, at the time of the filming, it did not change their lives that much, only after, of which even Gilbert was not immune. At least, unlike those who came later, they had no idea what was going to happen and I wonder if somebody was wondering at the time if people actually watched public television.
½ October 25, 2013
Stellar acting and overall a fascinating drama about the first family to star on a reality television program!
July 16, 2013
Educating movie about the genesis of reality shows... and my noting that nothing has changed much!
½ March 24, 2013
Muito legal. Meio que um falso documentário sobre o primeiro reality show da história
January 10, 2013
Though I'm often not a fan of TV movies, HBO's "Cinema Verite", which is much more brilliantly put together and clever than most, is a gem among the brilliant films the channel has brought to us-- it may even be the best of them all. The film itself is simply about the making of, and the behind the scenes, of the controversial (and ultimately important) 1973 documentary, "An American Family". Paving the way for the reality television genre, the series ultimately was important but misunderstood: and "Cinema Verite" puts everything together. It chronicles both before the Loud family was filmed and after, and the results are very interesting. What America saw was bits and pieces of drama-- with this film, not only do we see every bit, but it's ultimately respectful (and true) yet just as compelling as "An American Family" itself. Directing team Shari Springer Berman, and Robert Pulcini do a superb job of capturing the bits and pieces of the real life documentary, and the bonus scenes feel real, never dramatized just to make good television. But the real triumph of "Cinema Verite" is the power behind Diane Lane (Pat Loud), James Gandolfini (Craig Gilbert, the man behind the original series), and Thomas Dekker's (Lance Loud) performances. Dekker plays the famously homosexual Lance with truth and wit, and Gandolfini is ultimately terrific because he plays the shady Gilbert with charm-- because of his characterization, you can see why the Loud family trusted him in the first place. Of course, though, the real treat is Lane, who not only portrays Pat as the person she really was but she never overacts, something obviously hard to do considering the emotions of the scene. She's realistic, and that's what this film ultimately needs. "Cinema Verite" may be labeled as just another HBO TV-movie set to win Emmy's, but this time, it's actually deserving.
½ January 1, 2013
Cinema Verite, about the first American reality TV family, was a fascinating movie, but only as a movie. As a series that I remember, I personally felt that An American Family was boring, just like the reality TV it spawned. Because, like An American Family, reality TV is not really the truth--it is not a documentary. By putting a camera in front of real people--they become actors and no longer real, especially when it goes on for so long. One can be one's self in front of a camera for a few minutes perhaps, but not longer. I really hate reality TV, and so do many other people I talk too, even people I don't really know, but with whom I strike up a spur of the moment conversation, and that always ends with, "God, I hope it's over soon!"
½ December 2, 2012
The editing, acting and art is so lovely, is simply perfect, i really love it
November 5, 2012
A delightful insight into the invention of reality TV. Maybe a few explosions though would be terrific.
Page 1 of 5