Cities of Last Things - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cities of Last Things Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 20, 2019
...ends strongly thanks to the emotional wallop that Ning Ding brings to the film.
September 17, 2018
The story does reward the effort it takes to unkink it, turning into an ever-decreasing circle of broken connections...
September 13, 2018
Though it takes a little while for the film to find its footing, this is an ambitious and, finally, also touching new work from Pinoy Sunday director Ho Wi Ding.
September 11, 2018
The strong performances from Ho's uniformly fine actresses (Liu Juei-chi, Louise Grinberg, Shih Yin, Huang Lu, and Ding Ling) do much to help complicate and even transcend the generic limitations.
September 10, 2018
This intriguing, atmospheric movie from Malaysian director Ho Wi Ding tells its twisting story in reverse chronological order featuring its embittered protagonist in pivotal moments at three stages of life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 10, 2018
Ho's most ambitious effort to date.
September 9, 2018
Ho's film succeeds in using fractured time as way of puzzling together the essential drives that move a city and its inhabitants.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 9, 2018
There's a primal scene, an Oedipal drama and abandonment issues playing out in a film that throws ideas, genres and gendered violence together, all in poor taste.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 1