Clay Pigeons - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Clay Pigeons Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 1, 2000
Within Clay Pigeons is a smaller story that might have involved us more, but it's buried by overkill.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
This is one of those motion pictures where the director (David Dobkin, in his feature debut) and the writer (Matt Healy) are so concerned about developing a clever, serpentine plot that they forget that there has to be a credible ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
An interesting effort that a bit of script polishing could have saved.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
What might be likable to viewers not that discerning about plot or character study, is that this film was user friendly.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 27, 2004
| Original Score: 2/5
May 27, 2005
An okay little High Plains Noir, but it unravels at the end.
| Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Clay Pigeons is the sort of wacky dark comedy that tries to be irreverent right off the bat. But, unfortunately, it's about halfway through before it settles into a good comedic groove.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Clay Pigeons may not actually be a good movie, but it has many of the ingredients of one.
January 1, 2000
Ultimately, this mannered, disdainful work rewards viewers with an lazy ending and a bitter aftertaste.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
In a perfect world, Janeane Garofalo would be in every movie. That way, when the rest of the show bogged down, we'd still have her morbid wit and wry spin to hold onto.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
If serial killers and dead bodies are your idea of laughs, you might get a kick out of Clay Pigeons. Otherwise, you'd be better off skipping this awful black comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
A blithe homicidal romp set in backwoods Montana that hits the bullseye on charm, cleverness, sharp performances, and glib humor but misses the substance target altogether.
February 14, 2001
"You've got a sense of humor, I like that," Lester Long proclaims at one point. Well, we all like that, but would it be asking too much to have a little coherence to go along with it?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
I didn't mind not knowing from one moment to the next where Clay Pigeons might take me. I did mind that by the time I got where it was taking me, I didn't much care.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
January 1, 2004
It's hard to put a finger on what exactly this film is, and, for a while, it seems as if the filmmakers aren't sure what they're after, either.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 26, 2009
Slanted as a black comedy, but fails to secure the sufficiently outre tone (let alone any real suspense) needed to make it more than a middling retread.
Top Critic
April 12, 2002
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 25, 1998
Full Review | Original Score: D
December 16, 2003
Brilliant direction.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 3