Clerks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Clerks Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 28, 2009
There's no denying the raw and energetic feel Smith created with a memorable script, great characters and a genuine sense of Gen X angst.
November 23, 2009
an exemplar of what can happen when the stars align and someone's home movie can help foment a revolution
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 21, 2009
Clerks remains a defining debut, a symbolic shot into the darkened domain of legitimate moviemaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 23, 2006
...the film's inherent deficiencies are generally overshadowed by the distinctly earnest vibe.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 1, 2006
Smith dogpiles absurdity and obscenity on top of each other. The dullness of the dead-end jobs is brightened by bizarre bits--a fat guy asking for softer toilet paper, drops dead on the toilet.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 6, 2005
Kevin Smith actually pulled it off.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 21, 2005
It comes from bad stock, curses like a longshoreman and doesn't bring a gift. Nevertheless, it's the life of the party.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 13, 2004
It's not John Cassavetes' Shadows (1959), but what Kevin Smith's Clerks, lacks in subtlety it makes up for in laughs
September 10, 2004
Cheap, touching, and downright nasty, Kevin Smith's first feature still remains the ultimate cinematic tribute to slackers.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 4, 2004
...it is the ability to identify with the characters that makes the story so universal. I mean, we've all known people like these who have annoyed us all our lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 22, 2004
Smith's dialogue sounded groundbreakingly realistic at the time -- wore out its welcome eventually, but the initial blast was gleeful and significant.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
February 25, 2004
A wonderfully funny film debut; from the outset Kevin Smith takes us into his askewed world, and we love it. And I wasn't even supposed to be at work today.
| Original Score: 4/5
February 18, 2004
If you dig low-brow humor and a high volume cynical slacker take on things, then this film delivers the goods.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
February 5, 2004
...an utterly profane and amusing movie by first-time filmmaker Kevin Smith.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 11, 2004
Fresh, funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 22, 2003
A sidesplittingly funny and observant film for anyone who has ever had a lousy job.
| Original Score: 4/5
May 20, 2003
A buoyant, bleakly funny comedy chronicling a day's worth of activity at two adjoining stores.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
May 20, 2003
In style and execution, Clerks isn't on par with its generational predecessors, but what can you expect from an ex-convenience store jockey writer/director (Kevin Smith) with a $30,000 budget?
| Original Score: 2/4
November 7, 2002
There are some comedic gems here among the flurry of four-letter words, pop culture references and insults that come from the character's mouths.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 26, 2002
I don't care if the flick cost $14.54 to produce; it's one of the funniest movies I've ever seen.
| Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 3