Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Wars: The Clone Wars Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
October 21, 2014
I cannot accept that this is a Star Wars movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Mike Barnard
Future Movies UK
August 15, 2008
This will disappoint the hardcore fans, but the Star Wars youth will be entertained.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Jason Zingale
Bullz-Eye.com
October 18, 2008
hile the new Clone Wars features improved visuals and increased action, the show's big screen premiere fails to exist as anything other than a 90-minute commercial for the inevitable toy line.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Adam Tobias
Watertown Daily Times
August 15, 2008
The only way I'd ever watch the first-ever theatrical production from Lucasfilm Animation again is if I have children or I am unfortunate enough to fall under the spell of a Jedi mind trick.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
August 15, 2008
The only enjoyment I got from the film was laughing at how miserable it was and then zoning out during the boring fight scenes... which make up, no joke, about 90% of the total running time.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Ali Gray
TheShiznit.co.uk
October 14, 2012
It's a film of many firsts, but few of them positive: for the first time in history, we have a Star Wars film that you won't love or hate, but one about which you just won't care less either way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Tyler Hanley
Palo Alto Weekly
October 18, 2008
Here are six words that would probably get me tarred and feathered at a comic-book convention: I am sick of Star Wars.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
August 15, 2008
Has it come to this? Has the magical impact of George Lucas' original vision of Star Wars been reduced to the level of Saturday morning animation?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Nell Minow
Beliefnet
August 15, 2008
Oh, George Lucas. Please stop diluting the franchise.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 12, 2008
Very young kids, Star Wars completists and Lucas apologists may find themselves compelled to attend; anyone else would have a better time going to the Toshi Station to pick up power converters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
August 15, 2008
Clone Wars was executive-produced by George Lucas, who may be feeling a tad sheepish about the results.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Brett Michel
Boston Phoenix
July 6, 2010
With blocky, stiffly animated characters and even worse music, it's a money-grabbing afterthought (good luck with that, George) awkwardly assembled from a few episodes of the new series.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
James Rocchi
Common Sense Media
August 15, 2008
CGI Star Wars saga is dull, despite action.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Tim Grierson
EmanuelLevy.Com
August 10, 2008
A fairly simplistic plot, which is mostly just a clothesline to string together effective action sequences, eventually runs out of gas and the momentary recapturing of the old thrill fades away.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
August 14, 2008
May be a better-than-average Saturday morning cartoon, but as a theatrical feature, it has limited appeal to young kids and the few diehard fans who'll be able to overlook some of the silliness inherent in the story.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
August 18, 2008
One of the more mediocre entries in the entire Star Wars catalogue.
Ben Rawson-Jones
Digital Spy
July 14, 2011
Ultimately, there simply wasn't enough narrative development to justify a feature length film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Christian Toto
Washington Times
August 15, 2008
The Clone Wars may introduce a younger generation to the franchise - while chasing away existing "Star Wars" fans.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
August 12, 2008
Inconsequentiality is a pox upon the proceedings, draining any trace of narrative tension from countless large-scale conflicts that soon overwhelm the screen with stormtroopers, droids, explosions and laser blasts.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
September 11, 2008
Even with the bar having been lowered by the vacuous, overblown prequels though, 'Clone Wars' takes things to crass new lows
Chris Bumbray
JoBlo's Movie Emporium
February 27, 2009

Film Ireland Magazine
September 5, 2008
Page 1 of 9