Closed Circuit - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Closed Circuit Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Jared Mobarak
The Film Stage
June 28, 2016
Everything does work harmoniously for the majority of Closed Circuit, to create the exact taut mystery of governmental corruption and legal system loopholes I desired.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
November 20, 2015
The progressively intriguing atmosphere is heightened by the inclusion of several standout sequences...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Geoffrey Macnab
Independent (UK)
February 21, 2014
The film's attempts to expose flaws in the criminal justice system or give insights into the war against terror seem superficial, but Closed Circuit is entertaining in a sub-Hitchcock way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
February 18, 2014
I think this moves at a rapid pace. I think it has got really good performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
February 18, 2014
This is a genre I usually enjoy and while CLOSED CIRCUIT has some shortcomings it's a thought-provoking thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Erin Free
FILMINK (Australia)
February 7, 2014
Layered with strongly crafted characters, and snaking thriller plot, the results are compelling, thought provoking, and highly entertaining.

Daily Record (UK)
February 7, 2014
A story that hinges on a point of legalese is every bit as dreary as it sounds.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Russell Hainline
Movie Mezzanine
February 6, 2014
The real star of the film is the camera, forever peering at the actors from across streets, around corners, behind windows, and through gates.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Jonathan Kiefer
SF Weekly
February 4, 2014
Even allowing that the shortcomings of tactfulness are partly what it's about, the film's own tactfulness feels vaguely unsatisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
John Hanlon
Big Hollywood
December 23, 2013
With superficial characters, this look at the British justice system is a dour disappointment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
December 6, 2013
A twisty, attention-demanding legal thriller, it works for about half its length before the plotting and plausibility suddenly, inexplicably turn to water.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
December 1, 2013
If this is indeed the time to ask hard questions of ourselves and our government, Closed Circuit shouldn't be the film we turn to for inspiration.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat
November 27, 2013
The trailers have sold this film as a slick thriller, but unfortunately Closed Circuit is more chamomile tea than Red Bull.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Graham Young
Birmingham Mail
November 7, 2013
An entertaining reminder that legal affairs are rarely black and white.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rob Carnevale
The List
October 29, 2013
Closed Circuit may tackle some heavyweight issues but it ends up feeling lightweight.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Mark Kermode
Observer (UK)
October 28, 2013
Some moody night-time London location work from cinematographer Rob Hardy almost saves the day, but overall it's a losing battle.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Tim Robey
Daily Telegraph (UK)
October 25, 2013
Closed Circuit is too full of play-acting to resonate with our jittery moment as more than a skit, perhaps because half its cameras feel as though they're pointed in the wrong direction.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Donald Clarke
Irish Times
October 25, 2013
The gunmetal cinematography and sleek backgrounds plunge us so quickly into Conspiracy Central that we immediately assume the worst of every police officer, judge and cabinet minister.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Charlotte O'Sullivan
London Evening Standard
October 25, 2013
This London-set political thriller is a damp squib.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Brian Viner
Daily Mail (UK)
October 25, 2013
Enjoyment of this film rather depends on believing that our security services might not only be corrupt but so inept that a young female barrister could overpower an agent with a licence to kill, and a 14-year-boy could easily escape from a safe house.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 7