Closed Circuit - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Closed Circuit Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Jared Mobarak
The Film Stage
June 28, 2016
Everything does work harmoniously for the majority of Closed Circuit, to create the exact taut mystery of governmental corruption and legal system loopholes I desired.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
November 20, 2015
The progressively intriguing atmosphere is heightened by the inclusion of several standout sequences...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Geoffrey Macnab
Independent (UK)
February 21, 2014
The film's attempts to expose flaws in the criminal justice system or give insights into the war against terror seem superficial, but Closed Circuit is entertaining in a sub-Hitchcock way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
February 18, 2014
I think this moves at a rapid pace. I think it has got really good performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
February 18, 2014
This is a genre I usually enjoy and while CLOSED CIRCUIT has some shortcomings it's a thought-provoking thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Erin Free
FILMINK (Australia)
February 7, 2014
Layered with strongly crafted characters, and snaking thriller plot, the results are compelling, thought provoking, and highly entertaining.
Russell Hainline
Movie Mezzanine
February 6, 2014
The real star of the film is the camera, forever peering at the actors from across streets, around corners, behind windows, and through gates.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat
November 27, 2013
The trailers have sold this film as a slick thriller, but unfortunately Closed Circuit is more chamomile tea than Red Bull.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Graham Young
Birmingham Mail
November 7, 2013
An entertaining reminder that legal affairs are rarely black and white.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
October 25, 2013
Eric Bana and Rebecca Hall are as engaging as ever, and the film raises intriguing issues concerning the 'War on Terror'; pity the plot descends into the ridiculous.
Stephen Kelly
Total Film
October 24, 2013
It's a slow-burning, well-acted thriller that's only really let down in its third act: an unsatisfyingly limp denouement that fails to convey what's at stake with any sort of suspense.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
September 28, 2013
'Closed Circuit' is an enjoyable, rather quiet British thriller with no pyrotechnics or superheroes. Instead, it's more of a courtroom drama about politics and cover-ups.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
September 11, 2013
Part of the film's problem is that the emotional core of the story comes with its own case of closed-circuitry. But, don't get me wrong -- it's not a total miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Michael Dequina
September 9, 2013
A lot of classy talent is involved--and so expectedly on point are their efforts that one almost overlooks the overall rote and mechanical workings.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Susan Granger
SSG Syndicate
September 5, 2013
Subdued yet suspenseful, a timely conspiracy thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Robert Levin
September 3, 2013
Pretty solid in an old-fashioned sense, a movie committed to refined, quality storytelling without a whole lot of extra heft.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kevin Carr
Fat Guys at the Movies
August 30, 2013
Even though the film's plot completely unravels in the last half-hour of the movie, I still enjoyed the set-up enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kenneth R. Morefield
Christianity Today
August 30, 2013
We're probably not inspired by these characters to be better people, but we are reminded through them of how much harder it is to stand by our principles in life's biggest moments when we haven't had much practice doing so day to day.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
August 30, 2013
Intelligently constructed, well acted espionage drama.
Top Critic
Aisha Harris
August 30, 2013
There are enough genuine moments of surprise to make this genre exercise an invigorating one.
Page 1 of 7