Opening

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes Jul 11
100% Boyhood Jul 11
15% Rage Jul 11
21% A Long Way Down Jul 11
—— The Class Of '92 Jul 08

Top Box Office

17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $37.1M
23% Tammy $21.6M
85% 22 Jump Street $9.8M
30% Deliver Us from Evil $9.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $9.0M
48% Earth to Echo $8.4M
49% Maleficent $6.2M
54% Jersey Boys $5.2M
24% Think Like a Man Too $4.9M
90% Edge of Tomorrow $3.7M

Coming Soon

—— The Purge: Anarchy Jul 18
—— Sex Tape Jul 18
—— Hercules Jul 25
—— Lucy Jul 25
—— Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01

Premieres Tonight

—— The Almighty Johnsons: Season 3
—— Hemlock Grove: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
—— The Legend of Korra: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

25% Black Box: Season 1
100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
94% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
88% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
44% Working the Engels: Season 1

Closed Circuit Reviews

Page 1 of 7
David Blaustein
ABC News Radio

Director John Crowley should apologize to his cast, especially the underrated Eric Bana and Rebecca Hall, for mismanaging this story. What could have been an exciting international thriller is instead a head-shaking, poorly-executed bomb.

Full Review Source: ABC News Radio | Original Score: 1.5/5

August 30, 2013
Brian Viner
Daily Mail [UK]

Enjoyment of this film rather depends on believing that our security services might not only be corrupt but so inept that a young female barrister could overpower an agent with a licence to kill, and a 14-year-boy could easily escape from a safe house.

Full Review Source: Daily Mail [UK] | Original Score: 2/5

October 25, 2013
Ben Kendrick
ScreenRant

Eric Bana and Rebecca Hall provide solid performances but a muddled story makes Closed Circuit a political, but not very thrilling, political thriller.

Full Review Source: ScreenRant | Original Score: 2.5/5

August 30, 2013
Abhimanyu Das
Slant Magazine

It fails as a critique of draconian security states and surveillance culture, moving too fast to properly consider any of the well-worn ideas it glosses over.

Full Review Source: Slant Magazine | Original Score: 1.5/4

August 26, 2013
Matt Donato
We Got This Covered

Closed Circuit does nothing to separate itself from the numerous other genre titles that are released every year, depicting the same political thriller norms we've seen used time and time again.

Full Review Source: We Got This Covered | Original Score: 5/10

August 26, 2013
John Hanlon
Big Hollywood

With superficial characters, this look at the British justice system is a dour disappointment.

Full Review Source: Big Hollywood | Original Score: 2.0/5

December 23, 2013
Witney Seibold
CraveOnline

If you're going to do pulp, do pulp. Don't dress it up in something serious.

Full Review Source: CraveOnline | Original Score: 3.5/10

August 30, 2013
Sophie Monks Kaufman
Little White Lies

Paranoia reigns on the streets of London in this drab, noir-tinged slog with Rebecca Hall and Eric Bana.

Full Review Source: Little White Lies | Original Score: 1/5

October 24, 2013
Donald Clarke
Irish Times

The gunmetal cinematography and sleek backgrounds plunge us so quickly into Conspiracy Central that we immediately assume the worst of every police officer, judge and cabinet minister.

Full Review Source: Irish Times | Original Score: 2/5

October 25, 2013
Barbara VanDenburgh
Arizona Republic
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It's a film that eschews intrigue and insinuation for government agents who monologue about the dangers of free speech and fair trials while garroting their victims.

Full Review Source: Arizona Republic | Original Score: 2.5/5

August 28, 2013
Neil Alcock
Film4

Closed Circuit zips along nicely and has a decent stab at being a serious contemporary thriller, but feels too contained for its far-reaching ideas.

Full Review Source: Film4

October 25, 2013
Mathew DeKinder
Suburban Journals of St. Louis

It doesn't really have any grand message other than 'government is kind of shady,' but the microchip implanted in your brain by the NSA could have told you that.

Full Review Source: Suburban Journals of St. Louis | Original Score: 2.5/5

August 28, 2013
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix

If this is indeed the time to ask hard questions of ourselves and our government, Closed Circuit shouldn't be the film we turn to for inspiration.

Full Review Source: Quickflix | Original Score: 2.5/5

December 1, 2013
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The lawyers are supposed to be former lovers, but the film doesn't allow the leads to display any chemistry; likewise, it doesn't generate any suspense from its tried-and-true conspiracy premise.

Full Review Source: Chicago Reader

August 29, 2013
Emma Dibdin
Digital Spy

It's too plodding to work as a paranoid thriller and too ham-fisted to work as anything deeper...

Full Review Source: Digital Spy | Original Score: 2/5

October 22, 2013
Rob Hunter
Film School Rejects

Three Days of the Condor showed us why we shouldn't trust the government nearly forty years ago, and it still feels fresher and more relevant than this film.

Full Review Source: Film School Rejects | Original Score: C-

August 30, 2013
Roger Moore
McClatchy-Tribune News Service

I won't be the only one to go for this pun, but "Closed Circuit" shorts out.

Full Review Source: McClatchy-Tribune News Service | Original Score: 2/4

August 26, 2013
Corey Hall
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)

In its best moments, Closed Circuit evokes '70s paranoid classics like Three Days of the Condor but without anything particularly new or unique to add on to the old cynical story of how power corrupts.

Full Review Source: Metro Times (Detroit, MI) | Original Score: C+

September 2, 2013
JimmyO
JoBlo's Movie Emporium

This may be worth a look for those who enjoy a nice proper British mystery on the telly. Yet as it stands it would be near impossible to recommend going to the cinema or paying a costly VOD price.

Full Review Source: JoBlo's Movie Emporium | Original Score: 5/10

August 28, 2013
Ella Taylor
NPR
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It's storytelling informed by sloppy, absolutist thinking, and it lends one more uncritical voice to the many who seem unable to distinguish between kinds and degrees of evil ...

Full Review Source: NPR

August 29, 2013
Page 1 of 7
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile