Closed Circuit - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Closed Circuit Reviews

Page 1 of 7
David Blaustein
ABC News Radio
August 30, 2013
Director John Crowley should apologize to his cast, especially the underrated Eric Bana and Rebecca Hall, for mismanaging this story. What could have been an exciting international thriller is instead a head-shaking, poorly-executed bomb.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Brian Viner
Daily Mail (UK)
October 25, 2013
Enjoyment of this film rather depends on believing that our security services might not only be corrupt but so inept that a young female barrister could overpower an agent with a licence to kill, and a 14-year-boy could easily escape from a safe house.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Ben Kendrick
August 30, 2013
Eric Bana and Rebecca Hall provide solid performances but a muddled story makes Closed Circuit a political, but not very thrilling, political thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Abhimanyu Das
Slant Magazine
August 26, 2013
It fails as a critique of draconian security states and surveillance culture, moving too fast to properly consider any of the well-worn ideas it glosses over.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Matt Donato
We Got This Covered
August 26, 2013
Closed Circuit does nothing to separate itself from the numerous other genre titles that are released every year, depicting the same political thriller norms we've seen used time and time again.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
John Hanlon
Big Hollywood
December 23, 2013
With superficial characters, this look at the British justice system is a dour disappointment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
Witney Seibold
August 30, 2013
If you're going to do pulp, do pulp. Don't dress it up in something serious.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/10
Sophie Monks Kaufman
Little White Lies
October 24, 2013
Paranoia reigns on the streets of London in this drab, noir-tinged slog with Rebecca Hall and Eric Bana.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Donald Clarke
Irish Times
October 25, 2013
The gunmetal cinematography and sleek backgrounds plunge us so quickly into Conspiracy Central that we immediately assume the worst of every police officer, judge and cabinet minister.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Barbara VanDenburgh
Arizona Republic
August 28, 2013
It's a film that eschews intrigue and insinuation for government agents who monologue about the dangers of free speech and fair trials while garroting their victims.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Neil Alcock
October 25, 2013
Closed Circuit zips along nicely and has a decent stab at being a serious contemporary thriller, but feels too contained for its far-reaching ideas.
Mathew DeKinder
Suburban Journals of St. Louis
August 28, 2013
It doesn't really have any grand message other than 'government is kind of shady,' but the microchip implanted in your brain by the NSA could have told you that.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Simon Miraudo
December 1, 2013
If this is indeed the time to ask hard questions of ourselves and our government, Closed Circuit shouldn't be the film we turn to for inspiration.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
August 29, 2013
The lawyers are supposed to be former lovers, but the film doesn't allow the leads to display any chemistry; likewise, it doesn't generate any suspense from its tried-and-true conspiracy premise.
Emma Dibdin
Digital Spy
October 22, 2013
It's too plodding to work as a paranoid thriller and too ham-fisted to work as anything deeper...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Rob Hunter
Film School Rejects
August 30, 2013
Three Days of the Condor showed us why we shouldn't trust the government nearly forty years ago, and it still feels fresher and more relevant than this film.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
August 26, 2013
I won't be the only one to go for this pun, but "Closed Circuit" shorts out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Corey Hall
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
September 2, 2013
In its best moments, Closed Circuit evokes '70s paranoid classics like Three Days of the Condor but without anything particularly new or unique to add on to the old cynical story of how power corrupts.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
JoBlo's Movie Emporium
August 28, 2013
This may be worth a look for those who enjoy a nice proper British mystery on the telly. Yet as it stands it would be near impossible to recommend going to the cinema or paying a costly VOD price.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
August 29, 2013
It's storytelling informed by sloppy, absolutist thinking, and it lends one more uncritical voice to the many who seem unable to distinguish between kinds and degrees of evil ...
Page 1 of 7