Cloverfield - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cloverfield Reviews

Page 1 of 10
August 27, 2009
Grabby 9/11 imagery, facile jolts, and smeared textures
January 16, 2008
Worthwhile only for the scale of the destruction and the sheer audacity of its marketing campaign.
| Original Score: 6/10
February 2, 2009
I think when they started filming Cloverfield, somebody accidentally dropped the camera. Someone else said, "Cool." So they kept dropping the camera. And they threw it, and jerked it, and kicked it. And it went into terminal spasms.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 17, 2008
Reeves's film works hard to negate any noteworthy meaning from its mayhem.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 28, 2008
I've never cheered so hard for the monster to win in my life.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 16, 2008
An old-fashioned monster movie dressed up in trendy new threads.
January 18, 2008
Works as a showcase for impressively realistic-looking special effects, a realism that fails to extend to the scurrying humans whose fates are meant to invoke pity and fear but instead inspire yawns and contempt.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 17, 2008
Basically a 70-minute YouTube video, Cloverfield has all the head-rattling jolt and dramatic verisimilitude of a prank phone call.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
January 18, 2008
After seeing Cloverfield, I was so frustrated and disappointed that I felt like I needed a palate cleanser. I wanted to immediately go home and watch South Korea's The Host.
January 18, 2008
A combination of unpleasantness and stupidity that would be difficult to match, unless you were stuck in bed with the shingles while being forced to watch The Ghost Whisperer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 16, 2008
Too bad the movie is a less-than-satisfying experiment with contrived fake documentary aesthetics.
February 28, 2008
Nothing more than a gimmick from beginning to end, Cloverfield is a savvy marketing campaign masquerading as a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
January 15, 2008
Think Blair Witch meets Godzilla, and since that isn't the first or last time you'll read that comparison, think of a movie that results in something less profound.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 19, 2008
Despite being only 84 minutes, it seemed overlong and padded.
Full Review | Original Score: D
January 19, 2008
Ultimately a feature-length tease, the movie remarkably insubstantial and uninvolving for something that tries so desperately to live in the moment.
Full Review | Original Score: 38/100
January 23, 2008
The techs and the promise of scares is the draw for Cloverfield. Personally, I would wait for the DVD and rent it (but only on a big screen TV).
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 17, 2008
We know only what they know, see what the videocamera sees. I.e., not much.
January 17, 2008
A relentless, I-thought-my-eyeballs-were-bleeding exercise in visual disorientation.
January 18, 2008
Now that the fanboy hype has cleared, we can see Cloverfield for what it is: borrowed inspiration, trite screenwriting and amateurish acting all in the service of a ballsy idea.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 18, 2008
The running and climbing, the tidal waves of debris rushing down the avenues, the screams and carnage grow tiresome.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 10