Cloverfield - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cloverfield Reviews

November 18, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 29, 2008
It's like Abrams and crew have looked into the void and thought: the only thing worse than Armageddon is if no one witnessing it is hot.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 22, 2008
The mechanism is the message in Cloverfield, a movie so aluminum-sleek, ultra-portable, and itsy-bitsy sexy, it's amazing Steve Jobs didn't pull it out of an envelope at Macworld.
January 22, 2008
I had a lot of fun with this inside-out take on the monster movie.
January 22, 2008
Under the modern flummery, behind the faux amateurism and the handheld shudder, Cloverfield is a vastly old-fashioned piece of work, creaking with hilarious contrivance.
January 22, 2008
The fleeting, incomplete glimpses of the monster early on prove the old dictum of B-movie auteur Val Lewton that a momentary image can have greater impact than a prolonged one.
January 18, 2008
Maybe we now live in a world where we record the moment first and feel it later. If that's the case, Cloverfield leaves us waiting to feel.
January 18, 2008
Smartly reconjures the 1950s monster movie for the digital age.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 18, 2008
It's a giant-monster movie from the point of view of some of those little people running and shrieking in the street -- and it works incredibly well.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 18, 2008
The running and climbing, the tidal waves of debris rushing down the avenues, the screams and carnage grow tiresome.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 18, 2008
A jolt to the genre. The camera tumbles, the smoke billows, gigantic footsteps thunk, women shriek and the car alarms blare. And we are there.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 18, 2008
It puts human faces on the victims of mass destruction, faces that might easily have been yours or mine, staring down the maw of something we don't understand.
Read More | Original Score: A-
January 18, 2008
We've sat through that kind of movie again and again, but we've never sat through anything with Cloverfield's subjective sting. You'd have to be tougher than I was not to be blown sideways by it.
January 18, 2008
Cloverfield delivers exactly what its memorable coming attractions trailer promised, and it doesn't chicken out when it counts, either. Considering the state of horror movies today, that's something.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 18, 2008
An efficiently gripping sci-fi/horror romp.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 18, 2008
Cloverfield is visceral attack that it leaves the viewer reeling for details that flew by like so many bricks raining off broken buildings.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 18, 2008
Fully visceral, visually impressive.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 18, 2008
A remarkably economical, street-level view of widespread panic caused by an abomination that gets, and ultimately needs, no explanation.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 18, 2008
Cloverfield captures the chronic self-absorption of the Facebook generation with breathless, cleverly recycled media savvy, and then it stomps that self-absorption to death. These days, that's entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 18, 2008
Now that the fanboy hype has cleared, we can see Cloverfield for what it is: borrowed inspiration, trite screenwriting and amateurish acting all in the service of a ballsy idea.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 18, 2008
An effective film, deploying its special effects well and never breaking the illusion that it is all happening as we see it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 18, 2008
Reeves does a masterful job wedding the restricted perspective of Hud's lens with CGI glimpses of an already blasted cityscape. This is the gimmick's raw excitement phase -- we're hooked.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 18, 2008
It's fun in its morbidly campy way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 18, 2008
Works as a showcase for impressively realistic-looking special effects, a realism that fails to extend to the scurrying humans whose fates are meant to invoke pity and fear but instead inspire yawns and contempt.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 18, 2008
A surprisingly gripping thriller. Employing a pseudo-documentary handheld camera style, it offers a fresh spin on the monster movie genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 17, 2008
It's the end of the world as captured on an unsteady camcorder, a YouTube panic attack.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 17, 2008
Despite a first reel entirely devoted to establishing characters, Cloverfield is basically a line-'em-up, pick-'em-off horror movie that's effective without being either viscerally frightening or emotionally moving.
January 17, 2008
A relentless, I-thought-my-eyeballs-were-bleeding exercise in visual disorientation.
January 17, 2008
While it [the "camcorder ploy"] injects the film with a run-and-gun urgency, the device grows tiresome and ultimately leaves the film shortchanged.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 17, 2008
There's nothing to Cloverfield, really, but stripped-down chaos shot in a faux-verite Blair Witch Project fashion...But I have to say, I was with it.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 17, 2008
The shaky video camera perspective is alternately involving and irritating, but director Matt Reeves keeps the carnival of wreckage spinning at a brisk clip.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 17, 2008
Cloverfield is the ultimate movie for people who don't feel a cataclysm has really happened until they can videotape it, upload it and stream it live to the rest of the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 17, 2008
We know only what they know, see what the videocamera sees. I.e., not much.
January 17, 2008
A twitchy thrill ride that's relentless in its escalation of tension, merciless in its intensity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 17, 2008
The plot effectively reduces down to one long slog from Spring Street to Central Park South.
January 16, 2008
A terrific movie, filled with spectacle and a surprising amount of humor, which makes up for its lack of terror or emotional impact.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 16, 2008
This monster mash-up is a lot of fun, creating some intense gross-out moments and maintaining suspense throughout its speedy running time.
January 16, 2008
This film takes you into the heart of the maelstrom and leaves you there.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 16, 2008
A surreptitiously subversive, stylistically clever little gem of an entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 16, 2008
Chillingly effective.
January 16, 2008
An old-fashioned monster movie dressed up in trendy new threads.