Code Name: Geronimo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Code Name: Geronimo Reviews

Page 1 of 1
January 1, 2018
Very poor film as per Hollywood standards. Poorly directed. The film is shot in Mumbai, India as said to be in Peshawar and Abottabad, Pakistan. The people speak Hindi instead of Urdu or Pashto. There are shots of Indian flag as well. The license plates of cars are of Maharashtra, India. The depiction Bin Laden is extremely poor too. Rubbish film.
½ June 17, 2017
It is movies like these that spread wrong info around. At least put a disclaimer in the beginning saying due to lower production costs or safety concerns the film could not be shot in Pakistan. Right at the beginning, since when did Mumbai become Peshawar and since when did Hindi become Pashto.
½ December 9, 2016
Un film fatto quasi esclusivamente per sfruttare l'onda di entusiasmo dovuta alla uccisione di Osama Bin Laden. La pellicola ci racconta in modo abbastanza piatto come è avvenuta la preparazione pre-blitz e ovviamente anche il blitz. Il tutto condito da storie personali abbastanza inutili così come gli attori che sono di livello abbastanza scadente.
½ July 28, 2015
First things first: I'm not even going to try to produce a judgment about how accurate events are depicted, I'm reviewing this as a movie, is it a good watch?

I like the multiple storylines. It's a shame the SEALs who are the main focus never develop much of a story, but that would likely have stranded in a more propaganda-y feel for the movie and even more stereotypes associated with this sort of movie anyway, and I think we got something better in return. The intelligence efforts in the top of the CIA are a good change of pace from the scenes where the SEALs practice, and the third storyline about the two undercover agents stationed in Pakistan gives us probably the two most likeable characters in the movie, even though they do not do all that much.

The action is pretty solid and to the point, with the amount of cool action movie moves and shots kept to a minimum. The special effects are almost completely unnoticeable, which is a good thing, especially in a movie like this. The acting is wooden in some parts, and even kind of annoying in "childish guy who doesn't want a woman to get promoted over him", but only kind of. Overall it holds up well enough not to take away anything of the experience.

This picture does not make me think "wow", it doesn't make me want to watch it again or learn more about it, but it did entertain me as a solidly made movie that keeps the viewer's attention, ties all its stories into a single ending and pays off with what it promised. It lacks the clumsiness many TV or DVD movies have or even show off a bit too proudly, and it's worth its runtime to fans of semi-realistic intelligence and/or war movies.
September 7, 2014
Terrible movie on the operation that lead to the killing of Bin Laden. Terrible cast, terrible rythm, terrible everything.
October 6, 2013
The tone is largely incurious as a thriller but not entirely boring. Fichtner's presence excels within the bland moments.

6/10/2013
April 13, 2013
Really liked it, shame that it was so short
April 4, 2013
Enjoyed it from start to finish!
February 26, 2013
How they PR's failed operation! In fact, they set up a helicopter is on approach, on anecdote goes: one helicopter sits in the yard outside the territory of the other, because of this nesaglosovannosti first assault, the latter losing time and energy hammering gates and walls Hochma that nebylo resistance and if it was smashed to pieces by lions. What caused the murder and then a quick burial at sea of Ben Laden is generally a mystery. Was there a boy? Week in Afghanistan helicopter with broken seals temisamymi .... Dark whole story ... Well, the movie is already soremennaya mythology ...
January 25, 2013
Not as bad as i thought i would be. Actually, the only bad part were the useless dramas. The 2 reasons why I enjoyed it:
#1: it portraits the side of the story not shown on Zero Dark Thirty
#2: pretty sure the invasion sequence was more accurate than the one from ZDT.
Its innevitable the comparison between it and The Oscar Contender. I just thought this picture was made in a way that, with good direction, decent acting and what looked to be the same recording locations, it managed to be something like an extention for ZDT. And a good watch just by itself.
½ January 21, 2013
Just terrible. Zero Dark Thirty looks much better.
½ January 16, 2013
Saw this movie in Singapore thinking they renamed zero dark thirty for asian market. Silly me didnt google it. Wasted 2 hours of my life
January 8, 2013
In an arduous process of killing Osama, which short version and spoiler ending are known to any with internet or television, Code Name: Geronimo works better as a documentary than actual thriller. Unfortunately, it tries too much to give motivation or patriotism until the extend of overselling its bravado. Some familiar faces spice up the movie as plasters for clearer flaws.

The outlook is very dusty, not much cinematic filter involved and it does a good job on giving a natural look. Think of it like Bourne franchise without the crisp camera effect or a FPS video games' campaign. It trails the development of searching for Osama and finally the execution of the operation. William Fichtner as the leading agent has a convincing performance, he provides the movie with authority figure. Robert Knepper (T-Bag in Prison Break) is average in the role, he's a good actor, but not all of his roles are that interesting, this one included.

As the matter of fact, everyone seems so obvious. From the matrimonially challenged squad leader, potty mouth gunner, and brass womanizers, they are all predictable as army clichés and not much more. Xzibit gives a bit of star quality for mainstream audience, he's not bad but still trapped in grunt role. Half of the movie is the intelligent acquiring process, both within the CIA and the two field agents. These are not as entertaining, and lacking of tension. Their life-threatening situation in enemy's territory or the risky decision making in the headquarters could be more thrilling and better paced.

Some situations are highlighted with realistic combat, these parts are video game- like, although the camera take is a bit confusing. You have continuously changing views from shooter to shooter, but the action is frantically fast and isn't choreographed that well. It results in a frenzy, albeit it's maybe what real combat is, but it's too frazzled to differentiate who does what to whom. Taking its long preceding preparation into account, it's quite a shame that it doesn't end in a more riveting way.

It should have focused primarily as a documentary than tried to adapt itself into a semi blockbuster, which it is not.
½ January 6, 2013
interest action thriller
½ January 3, 2013
Awkward acting in a cliche' plot...the US Military deserves better than this awful (and inaccurate) depiction.
December 10, 2012
Palomera. Divertida.
Page 1 of 1