Color of Night - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Color of Night Reviews

Page 1 of 23
July 16, 2016
What a melodramatic mess of a movie that has characters and plot that should be a satiric comedy spoof--it's that far out there. Ruben Blade's cop was absolutely ridiculous.
October 25, 2015
I remember when this came out the critics hated it & the public ignored it but I liked it.
½ September 26, 2015
hitchcock wannabe that is a mess, erotic thrillers always wanted to bring the basic thriller in the 90s but sadly a lot of them failed. sex scenes are full on and are the only reason you'd be watching this terrible movie.
September 26, 2015
Possibly the worst film I've seen in a long long time!!! Acting is dubious at best, storyline is fine (although a remake would improve it vastly), but the overall effect for me lacked severely.
½ September 4, 2015
Very cheesy, very obvious. Typical 90s thriller. A very this good deserved better.
August 30, 2015
I did like color of night the erotic thriller where bruce willer plays a psychologist whose friend also a psychologist played by scott bakula is brutally murdered jane march and Lesley ann warren also give good performances
½ April 19, 2015
This is the worst film Willis has ever made and with a ton of crap to his credit,that's saying something.
December 28, 2014
old movies really better than new ones...
August 20, 2014
Typical murder mystery film, I did enjoy it however. I've been reviewing Mill Creeks Blu-Ray releases and most of them are mediocre or just pure garbage; however this one was intriguing, well for the first half of the movie anyways. Bruce Willis plays a psychologist that needs help himself after one of his patients that he's intimately involved with jumps out of a window, he goes to see another psychiatric friend of his in LA, to make a long story short his friend is murdered and he takes over a group of nuts after his death. I would recommend this movie, and I'm not sorry I bought this Mill Creek release; for $2.96 it was worth every penny.
July 14, 2014
First time I saw this I thought this movie was crazy good... much time has gone by but it's still hasn't lost it's luster... at least not to me.
June 26, 2014
Color of Night is sort of like watching a film directed and written by Tommy Wiseau. There are a lot of awkward and unintentionally funny scenes in this film. It's honestly hard to describe anything without grinning from ear to ear. The acting, writing and directing is so horrendously bad and yet good. Let's look at this insane case called "Color of Night".

Bill Capa (Bruce Willis) is a psychiatrist who has suffered the traumatic event of one of his patients jumping out of his office window. This leads him to go visit his other therapist friend in Los Angeles. Unfortunately, this friend ends up getting murdered. I would describe the rest of the plot, but I just can't. Why? Two reasons: Firstly we would be here all day. What doesn't happen in this movie? Car chases, lovemaking, dual identities, general insanity and some more lovemaking. Secondly, I don't think even the movie itself knows what it wants to do and what it wants to be. There are times when the whole Murder Mystery thing is completely forgotten because the film got caught up with something else. I would say the film shows signs of multiple personality Disorder.

The acting and Dialogue in Color of Night is the main highlight. Anything that is said by Detective Martinez usually gets a laugh. Lesley Ann Warren is wonderfully over the top and of course Jane March as a young man is hilariously bad. However, Bruce Willis offers nothing to this movie at all. He really doesn't want to have campy fun with his role and because of that resistance he fails the hardest here. But I will say this: he knows how to have sex on camera. Seriously, his sex scenes with Jane March (as a woman of course) are just a treat to watch. The only time I believe these two have any connection as a couple is when they're butt naked doing it like Rabbits. I might sound like a Perv saying that but it's really true.

I really wish this movie had more laughs and more focus though. There are a long stretches of boring and unneeded things. This movie doesn't know just how incompetent it is Therefore, it tries it's hand at character development mostly with the crew of psychotics Willis is in charge of. With the exception of Lesley Ann Warren, I find none of these insane people that interesting. Yeah, Brad Dourif is kind of funny but his character is still dry as hell. Maybe if the screenwriters had more fun the audience would.

Here is my "Final Analysis" (wink) on Color of Night. It has a mixture of both Bipolar Disorder and Paranoid Schizophrenia. It's an insane and unintentionally hilarious piece of S*it. Let me put it this way, as a Mystery/Drama it fails. As a Comedy, it rules!
April 20, 2014
Excellent for a B rated movie
½ April 19, 2014
Dear God, this is a goofy sit.
½ April 2, 2014
To contrived, with acting to tedious & a script to forced, to be taken seriously. And not that I particularly want to defend this movie but, the worst thing about it wasn't the acting, script or anything else that actually has to do with this film directly; the worst thing was the outrage over that stupid nude scene where Bruce's limp junk pops into the camera frame for a quick hello...

When, seriously, the worst thing about this movie, directly, is probably the script!

What a seriously stupid, & in a way...kinda funny, pathetic joke.
½ March 12, 2014
I have to say, this was a real convoluted and meandering film. It had some interesting set design, the last climbing scene in particular, and had a twist like no other. I love the old-fashioned, almost campy, Italian-exploitation style of this film. It worked well and I am glad I saw it.
March 1, 2014
Ending is so far fetched
½ February 6, 2014
Can't complain about Bruce Willis doing softcore porn with a pretty hot chic. Some very memorable sex scenes but an extremely dumb plot.
½ January 30, 2014
I don't think I can really pretend that this is a good movie, but I really kind of loved it. It's ridiculous, but really so ridiculous it approaches sublime. If Paul Verhoeven had made this, it would have been a masterpiece. I love much of Richard Rush's work, but he doesn't seem to have been completely comfortable in 90s erotic thriller land. He does make something that's kind of like an American giallo, but it's too awkward and shambling to really be great. Wortha watch though at minimum just to appreciate how crazed the plot gets.
November 7, 2013
I am going to pass on this one.
October 27, 2013
Depicts certain personality disorders, and keeps suspense high, Its nice to see Bruce in his best physical shape, and peek at his wurst in the Swimbad.
Page 1 of 23