Color Me Kubrick - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Color Me Kubrick Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 7, 2012
Colour Me Kubrick is a marginal curiosity that survives on a whiff of appropriation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 27, 2007
It's simply not a movie, not as it stands. It's a five-minute demo reel stretched to feature length.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
April 26, 2007
Any picture featuring a sped-up version of the "William Tell Overture" is so drunk on its own whimsy that it most likely sucks with a dedicated vigour.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
April 9, 2007
Malkovich captures not only the nuttiness of Conway, with his smorgasbord of foreign-sounding accents, but also his pathos.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 5, 2007
Conway looked and sounded nothing like Kubrick and didn't even research his supposed identity. He's clearly a fascinating character who deserves a better movie.
April 1, 2007
Not only is there nothing there, the nothingness is a complete bore. When a film's highpoint is a soundtrack that relies heavily on other soundtracks, you've got problems.
Full Review | Original Score: D
April 1, 2007
The irony of Color Me Kubrick is that the visual tricks merely serve as a backdrop for Malkovich's inspired high-wire performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 1, 2007
A little bit like a coloring book -- flip the pages and each is pretty much like the one before, escalating variations on the same scam, with Malkovich filling in the cartoonish shadings, and occasionally going way outside the lines.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 31, 2007
This is a kicky little movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 31, 2007
It literally only has one idea in its head, and when that idea runs dry, it's as lost as Conway is without his plethora of Kubrick masks.
Read More | Original Score: C
March 31, 2007
It's an impressive moving wax museum, certainly, but even metatextual follies eventually need a pulse.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
March 31, 2007
At best a kitschy Catch Me If You Can and at worst a tedious comedy.
March 31, 2007
Director Brian W. Cook should know that hopes are seldom high for movies that debut on DVD the same day they hit the multiplex.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 27, 2007
Fans of John Malkovich will most appreciate Colour Me Kubrick. For the rest, this is an amusing little blip on the movie radar screen.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 26, 2007
Even if the film is essentially a one-man show, a one-man show starring John Malkovich is bound to be really damn good.
March 26, 2007
John Malkovich has a blast, so will you!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 26, 2007
[A] loopy lark...the sheer goofiness of the premise, together with its gossipy 'insider' nature [and] the take-no-prisoners performance of John Malkovich...carry it along.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 24, 2007
It's no 'Six Degrees of Separation' but Malkovich charms the audience as much as his marks, making this solid sit-com entertainment
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 24, 2007
If you're a fan of Stanley Kubrick or just a die-hard film buff, you may find this weird, semi-documentary an absolute hoot. I did.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 23, 2007
Kubrick stumbles around with eyes wide shut.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 3